Chef John's Pumpkin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I am going to give this a full 5 stars because I love the texture of this scone. It is light and moist for a scone. The taste is so nice but I did use fresh cooked pumpkin and added cinnamon, ground ginger and a bit of pumpkin pie spice. I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This did not have the consistency of a scone. It was more like a regular, moist bread. Scones should be crumbly. I made it exactly as the recipe instructed, but I added spices. It would have been very bland without them. We will finish eating them with honey on them, but I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These are delicious, light layers within the crumb with just the right amount of sweetness. I used pumpkin seeds (pepitas) instead of pine nuts. I did not add any extra spices but that would be good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made these yesterday for a large gathering. They were the first things gone. I also added cinnamon & nutmeg to the batter and topped with a simple glaze of powdered sugar, cinnamon, milk and a splash of maple syrup. Oh I left out the pinenuts simply because I didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was a very good scone recipe and I will use it again in the future. I did add spices (cinnamon and nutmeg) and 1 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. I also eliminated the pine nuts and substituted them for chocolate chips. Yum! I'm not sure what the scones would taste like without the cinnamon and nutmeg. I frosted these with homemade cream cheese frosting and drizzled them with melted chocolate. My family loved them and they want me to make them again. For me, that means a recipe was a success :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I made this today for a work function. They came out great and were eaten right up. I made a few minor changes. I used 1% milk instead of buttermilk, instead of 1/3 cup pine nuts I used aprox. 2 1/2 Tablespoons chopped walnuts and 2 1/2 Tablespoons chopped milk chocolate chips, I cut them into 24 smaller pieces, and I did not use the egg wash on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I took the advice of several of the reviewers and added cinnamon and chocolate chips and these were divine. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
These were very moist, but the pine nuts ruined it for everyone in the family. I will make these again, but use walnuts instead. A more classic taste ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Leedom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I've never made scones but this was clean out the cabinets week for me and I found a can of pumpkin I wanted to use up.I watched the video twice because I don't usually bake.I didn't have pine nuts so used walnuts and browned them just a tad to bring out flavor.I made it as written not trying to make it something it wasn't other then the nuts.I used the maple glaze.Surprisingly I made a delicious scone.I wish I had this for the Holidays but will be a keeper for next season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tatum
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This recipe is amazing , I did add chocolate chunks and walnuts and my own spices to plain pumpkin pie........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States