Chef John's Pumpkin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Delish! Add spices, omit nuts. Cream cheese glaze set these off for me. A new fall fav :) Gotta say Chef John, you never disappoint!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
These were YUMMY! Thanks for the delicous recipe Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is an amazing recipe! The kind you can't stop eating...I literally covered the top with cinnamon and sugar and put chopped dates and a handful of raisons in the scone. When I rolled it, I mixed sugar into the flour as I don't like flour coated scones. Definitely a remake in my house! Next time though, I'll top with cinnamon and course raw sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
These were lovely! I left out the pine nuts, since well, they're expensive and I didn't have any anyways. I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon but next time my husband said I should add a full tsp, along with some other traditional pumpkin spices. As it was, it was just as Chef John described: not too moist, not too dry. The glaze was a nice touch. And these were even better warmed up in the toaster oven. This will become a standard recipe for using up my garden sugar pie pumpkins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
These are some great scones! I recommend substituting mini chocolate chips if you don't like pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This did not have the consistency of a scone. It was more like a regular, moist bread. Scones should be crumbly. I made it exactly as the recipe instructed, but I added spices. It would have been very bland without them. We will finish eating them with honey on them, but I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
These were very moist, but the pine nuts ruined it for everyone in the family. I will make these again, but use walnuts instead. A more classic taste ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Leedom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I'd call this a biscuit, rather than a scone. If you like a scone moist, flaky, and bland you might like it, but I prefer a dry, loose crumb. The absence of egg and spices in the batter should have tipped me off, but I probably would have tried them anyway, just to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I am going to give this a full 5 stars because I love the texture of this scone. It is light and moist for a scone. The taste is so nice but I did use fresh cooked pumpkin and added cinnamon, ground ginger and a bit of pumpkin pie spice. I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These were just OK for me. I thought the pine nuts didn't really meld well with the pumpkin. I did a heavy glaze because I thought they needed a little extra flavor, and I wasn't in awe of the texture. Maybe had I baked them a little longer (I did 17 minutes) they would have had a crunchier bite to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States