Chef John's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This man tells no lies. No cracks. Simple recipe and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Constance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
just made pie today once cooled i cut a little slice. Yummy i will be making this again. This is a keeper (i also used fresh ginger)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bullocks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
AMAZING!!!! No crack! I admit...I watched the video and then had to try this pie for Thanksgiving. Although I used a store bought deep dish pie shell....this filling was incredible. Easy and delicious! I too agree that the extra egg yolks made this very rich and creamy. Some pumpkin pies have a bit of a grainy texture....Not this pie, rich, creamy and smooth! I did omit the Chinese 5 spice since I had non on hand....I dont really think it mattered....it was perfectly spiced for us. My family love this pie....it will be my goto pumpkin pie from now on....never again with the evaported milk....its all about the sweetened condensed and the extra yolks. Perfection! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
It is misnamed. Should be Perfect Pumpkin Pie. It comes out picture perfect and tastes even better! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Perfect pumpkin pie. This is deceptively simple, with relatively few ingredients. It will be my go-to recipe from here on out. I used Pillsbury ready to use pie crust because I didn't have time to make up my own. I also didn't have Chinese five spice, so I just replaced with a scant 1/8tsp of ground cloves. Rich, creamy, perfect balance of pumpkin and spice. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
FINALLY no crack in the middle of the pie! THANK YOU Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czech-chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Photo by tlmstar
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
True story. This pie did not crack, looked amazing, and tasted delicious, will definitely become my "go to" pumpkin pie recipe. I skipped the 5-spice powder because we didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bresler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
A friend brought this pie to our Thanksgiving dinner today. I was skeptical about anything that differed from the traditional pumpkin pie recipe that I have been making for decades. Was I wrong! I love the texture of this pie, and it is not too sweet. It's the only pumpkin pie I'll make from now on - thanks, Chef John (and thanks to my friend Sue for bringing this great pie to our Thanksgiving celebration.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Work awesome for me. I also follow your pie crust recipe. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States