Chef John's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
The taste was great. It had a grainy texture and I followed the recipe exactly. I made it twice just to be sure I didn't do something wrong the first time. Has anyone experienced this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chattycat1598

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
We made this pie for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. It had a custard type texture. We're definitely keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I've been cooking/baking for over 20 years, and until now, I've never made a pumpkin pie! I decided on this recipe and what a great decision...it was easy and SO good!!! Made a pretty presentation for the holiday crowd, too :) Making another one (or 2!) today for a get together! I should mention I replaced the Chinese spice with pumpkin pie spice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made this for the first time around Thanksgiving and making it again for Christmas. I made a few changes-- I had a real pumpkin at Thanksgiving, which I pureed in my Vitamix. I substituted that for a can. I also did not have the Chinese 5-spice so I added a tiny bit more ginger, nutmeg, and cinnamon. I have to say the magic might be in the real pumpkin (which was not a special baking pumpkin, just the one I'd gotten from the grocery store before Halloween), but whatever it was, best pie ever. Now reusing the same pumpkin puree, which I had put in the freezer, to make it again. I also appreciated the tips about mixing in the accompanying video as I'm a novice home baker who typically just throws it all together, but I love to learn about the real chemistry of baking. Thank you for this recipe, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly! Pie was good, will make again, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Amazing. I don't care for pumpkin pie very much but this recipe changed my mind. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
To be honest, I was very leery of the Chinese 5 spice because a little of that can go a long way to overpower a dish. But....this was a winner in my recipe box! It was just enough to add a nice, sutle flavor that's missing in most regular pumpkin pies. Another plus: not too sweet!!! It was a hit at our Thanksgiving dessert table. Thanks, Chef John for sharing this. Mine turned out picture perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Doesn't crack, is perfectly done at the time stated. Great spices. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My husband avoids all things pumpkin & hates when I use it, but he went back for seconds of this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Very good recipe. I used fresh pumpkin instead of canned. Good flavor but I will add more spices next time, maybe even double whats in the recipe. I didn't have 5 spice so I just left it out. I love the creamy texture and nope, mine did not crack! Coulndn't believe I was lucky enough to bake a pumpkin pie without a crack! Thank you Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States