Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Used butter instead of oil. Only had one lemon so probably shy of amts but these were still yummy. Batter does not need more milk, it's a scoop batter not a pour batter, I used a small ladle. I topped with glazed walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
These were to die for! Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Slightly thick for us...made a large batch. Will make again with reduced flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgar, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This is not the kind of pancake that you can stack up and gobble down. This pancake is thick, complex, and delicious. You eat one at a time and think about all the flavours. It's beautiful. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I used buttermilk instead of milk with lemon...but that wont change the flavor any since milk and lemon is the old standby for buttermilk. I found the spice to be a little strong and cut the ginger allspice in half. Lastly as noted by other posters....the batter is very thick and I had to add more liquid for a pourable batter. All minor stuff though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Used pumpkin pie spice instead of all the individual spices. (Total of all other spices) Taste reminded me of french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
These pancakes were super yummy! My whole family loved them. I was unsure about the lemon juice and zest, but it gave the pancakes a nice flavor that complemented the pumpkin and spices. The batter was a little thick for my preference so I added more milk to the consistancy that I like. Will definely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
These were good enough, but not great. I tried one plain before adding any syrup. They had very little flavor. I'm not talking subtle, I'm talking very little flavor. I'm going to try these again, will probably double the spices, and add more pumpkin. I'll post a review again if that works. However, I made apple cider syrup using brown sugar instead of white, and it was delicious with these pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as it was written (I cooked them on a nonstick pan w/o any oil) and served them topped w/ butter and pure maple syrup. They are light, fluffy and flavorful!I think one of the keys to their "light, fluffiness" is whisking the dry ingredients as directed. Definately will be making these again. I think I may even adapt the pumpkin and spices into a crepe recipe and fill w/maple syrup that has been whipped into creme cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Baerwaldt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeanwrap
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
What an amazing pancake recipe. I made them exactly as indicated, and I even made my own pumpkin puree. (the way it should be!) It was fluffy and extremely delicious. The recipe is perfect the way it is, oh man - what a hit with the family, they all loved it! (I used a non-stick frying pan, and used very little oil in my pan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States