Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Perfect as is. My husband gobbled them right up. Makes a lot so I'm going to freeze leftover to heat for a quick breakfast. Served with apple sausages...mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Good flavor but a little too much egg flavor that comes through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Flavor was good; however, as previously mentioned, batter was way too thick and pancakes would not cook in the middle before burning on the outside. Easy fix, just add more liquid, and they were really good, with maple syrup, butter and of course Applewood Smoked Bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Canipelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
We love it! I make them with 100% whole wheat. And sometimes with chocolate chips. YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was a very good recipe. I needed something that I could do with a class of second-graders in small groups. In order to use fewer spices (that I would have to carry back and forth), I subbed pumpkin pie spice for the other spices and eliminated the lemon zest (too messy). We did also need to use extra milk; the batter would have been hard to pour without it. The kids (and teachers) loved the pancakes with just a little powdered sugar on top. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Tried this recipe as posted, had to add more milk to thin out as advised by other posters, and had to cook longer than suggested and still they came out very doughy! I tried one in the waffle maker to cook through better, but my family still did not like these at all. Sorry, but 4 out of 4 family members said this is a no go for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I follow the recipe to a T and it is fantastic. This time of year we make them almost every weekend. They are absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly and it was awesome! no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I used melted leftover cinnamon butter instead of oil, egg replacer instead of egg (daughter's allergic to eggs), self-rising unbleached flour so I omiited the baking poweder, soda, and salt. I used cinnamon sugar (I make and keep around for coffee) so I omitted the sugar and I probably used more spices, I never measure but I looove spices. I used dry milk and water (which isn't as thick as regular milk) so they didn't turn out super thick like other reviewers were talking about. I used a grittle so I omitted the oil and the cooking time was a lot faster. My family loved these. Thanks for the amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
We all loved it. Used organic pumpkin pie mix so I left out the related spices. Everything else was as written. Let any pancake batter sit a minute after mixing to make fluffier cakes. Thanks again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States