Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kleaneater
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
It had a strange aftertaste. My kids did not like them at all and one of them is a big fan of pumpkin and pancakes. My husband said they were okay but not worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Tried it. Love them, though I did make some changes. Like some said definitely more liquid. Quite a bit more. The spicing is a personal preference thing. I did not have allspice on hand and I really enjoyed it that way. I was silly and did not finely grate the zest. Make sure you do. I used lemon but plan to try orange. I used half white half wheat and thought it was great. I bet could be adjusted for gluten free or Paleo maybe. Oh, I used half the sugar cause I planned on maple syrup on top. Glad I did it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Great pancakes but for my liking , the next time I will up the spices more. I was surprise how light and fluffy the pancakes were and would definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I subbed crumbled bacon and pecans for the topping, pored a little maple syrup and a dollop of whipped cream--very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Delicious! Made about a dozen pancakes. They were thick and fluffy, but the batter is quite a bit thicker than I'm used to working with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Delicious. I usually try a recipe w/o changes the first time. Yesterday mom n I had these for the first time, left overs today. Cook once, eat twice. A little Norm Abram in there. I wouldn't change anything. We used lite syrup, for both our sakes. Super enjoy your recipes and Videos Chef John. Now that I'm at home taking care of my mom there's more time to explore the recipe world. Thank You Chef for all the great eats and God Bless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Great taste, weird chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Good recipe! A lot like eating a pumpkin muffin with a pancake texture. I sprinkled chopped pecans and dried cranberries on some of the pancakes. Very yummy. Spice is strong. I'm giving it four stars to represent family input. Reactions from the kids were mixed: Easy Going 9 Year Old Son ate all of his and declared the plain ones two thumbs up. Picky Eater 7 Year Old Daughter picked at hers, despite them containing all her favorite flavors. Always Hungry But Opinionated 4 Year Old Daughter gobbled up hers and requested seconds. Touch And Go Two Year Old Daughter polished hers off before we finished saying the blessing. Husband had seconds but didn't specifically ask it be put into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Wonderful way to use up my leftover pumpkin. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States