Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very good. The negative reviews are from people, for whatever reason, altered the recipe. Follow it exactly and the result is very good. Kids loved them, wife loved them, I loved them...what else can you say? No changes and they were just as Chef John described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Yum yum yum!!! Def needed a little more milk bc the batter was very thick. These were fantastic! I used a little less sugar and brown sugar. I love how the spices don't overwhelm the taste of the pumpkin... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taragg
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
These were delicious!! I used my mini pancake pan & made approximately 25 nice fluffy minis. I used coconut oil as my oil and didn't bother w/ the lemon zest. This is saved to my Recipe Box & I plan to make more & freeze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Even tho I try a lot of the recipes I find here, I rarely (if ever) take the time to post a review. I just figure most of them are good or they wouldn't be on here to start with. This time I want to take a few minutes to say how much we enjoyed these Pumpkin Pancakes. Last Fall, my wife went on a pumpkin binge and was making all kinds of recipes with pumpkin as a featured ingredient. Some were good, some not so much. But when I saw these pancakes I knew I had to make them. I enjoy cooking but I always stick to the recipe; I am not experienced enough to play around with the ingredients like many cooks are able to do. This recipe came out perfectly and I followed it exactly to the letter. Maybe some day I will be able to offer advice on modifications, but for now I can only say that if you follow the recipe it will come out very well. I thought maybe I would have some leftover pancakes to freeze for the microwave but they were all eaten in the first round. If you are thinking about trying these Pumpkin Pancakes stop reading and start cooking. They are excellent and very easy to make. I highly recommend this recipe and hope that you enjoy it as much as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Processed flour, processed sugar, milk and vegetable oil? Seriously? It's these kinds of recipes that explain the high rates of heart disease and type 2 diabetes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony DeRosa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kleaneater
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I didn't mind the initial taste but found it had a strange aftertaste. My kids did not like them at all and one of them is a big fan of pumpkin and pancakes. My husband said they were okay but not worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Tried it. Love them, though I did make some changes. Like some said definitely more liquid. Quite a bit more. The spicing is a personal preference thing. I did not have allspice on hand and I really enjoyed it that way. I was silly and did not finely grate the zest. Make sure you do. I used lemon but plan to try orange. I used half white half wheat and thought it was great. I bet could be adjusted for gluten free or Paleo maybe. Oh, I used half the sugar cause I planned on maple syrup on top. Glad I did it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Great pancakes but for my liking , the next time I will up the spices more. I was surprise how light and fluffy the pancakes were and would definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I subbed crumbled bacon and pecans for the topping, pored a little maple syrup and a dollop of whipped cream--very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States