Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe exact, only using lactose-free milk. I did not need the additional vegetable oil because I cooked the pancakes on my non-stick griddle. These were fluffy and perfect. I served the pancakes with my homemade Buttery Cinnamon Syrup. The family loved them, especially the kids--they had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is my favourite pancake recipe. I love it. It makes wonderful pancakes and waffles. I leave out the pumpkin and alter the spices for variations. I have never had anything less than perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I substituted pureed carrots for the pumpkin, and it turned out just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SayadaR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
We really loved these!I made them for Valentines breakfast. I did have to use at least a half a cup more milk. I used buttermilk instead of the lemon and milk. Also I had pumpkin pie spice so I used that in place of all the spices. fabulous recipe! Oh also I used white whole wheat flour and I recommend these to everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgina Sikora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
The best I've tasted. I love the spiciness. I did add an extra 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and heaped the other spices as I love extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This is a great recipe! I'll admit I was skeptical when I watched the video and saw that lemon juice and lemon zest were included but my skepticism vanished as soon as I tasted these. The lemon juice and zest only serves to brighten the flavor of the pumpkin and makes the flavor light and full. These pancakes are extremely light and fluffy as well. My husband remarked about that with the first bite. Don't be fooled into thinking these will be dense by how thick this batter seems, just spread it out in the pan with the back of the measuring cup if you want them to spread out more. Don't add more liquid! The only changes I made were that I used all white sugar instead of brown and white. And I only did that because I had already measured out most of the ingredients before I realized I was out of brown sugar. These were still delicious! I can imagine they'll only be better next time when I have brown sugar to use. Also, I used a can of evaporated milk instead of regular milk only because I had too many cans of evaporated milk in my pantry and saw this as an excuse to use one. This is my "go-to" recipe now for Pumpkin pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I tried this recipe today and got rave reviews from some very serious pancake critics in my family. My sons loved them! Excellent for Christmas morning brunch and very light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
My family loved this recipe! I didn't have a lemon so I used buttermilk instead of the milk and lemon. The batter was thick but made a very nice moist and fluffy pancake with very nice flavor. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
We (family of 9) love these!!! Good-bye ordinary pancakes! Hello YUMMINESS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This is the real deal! Wonderful! I use butter to cook instead of oil, just a personnel preference. You can also sub buttercup squash with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States