Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe exact, only using lactose-free milk. I did not need the additional vegetable oil because I cooked the pancakes on my non-stick griddle. These were fluffy and perfect. I served the pancakes with my homemade Buttery Cinnamon Syrup. The family loved them, especially the kids--they had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Pretty good pancakes. I would definitely recommend more milk...I used 2c and they were still pretty thick. Also, I forgot to add the oil to the batter, but it didn't seem to make a difference. They still turned out really good w/o the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This recipe is absolutely fabulous. I used orange zest and juice instead of lemon. I definitely played around with the spices and added quite a bit more of each. Also added a bit more pumpkin and milk and they turned out perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Sorry Chef John, love your other recipes but really dissappointed in this one. Was really looking forward to making this as I love pumpkin and pie spice. However, they were too spicy and overwhelmed the flavor of the pumpkin. I am sure I could make another iteration of this recipe reducing the spice amounts but don't want to waste the ingredients experimenting. The only reason I gave it as many stars as I did was I am sure the basic pancake recipe is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I tried this recipe today and got rave reviews from some very serious pancake critics in my family. My sons loved them! Excellent for Christmas morning brunch and very light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
My family loved this recipe! I didn't have a lemon so I used buttermilk instead of the milk and lemon. The batter was thick but made a very nice moist and fluffy pancake with very nice flavor. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I substituted pureed carrots for the pumpkin, and it turned out just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SayadaR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
These are fun fall pancakes. I like min a little thinner, so these were a bit too thick for me. Next time I will add more milk. They are very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
We really loved these!I made them for Valentines breakfast. I did have to use at least a half a cup more milk. I used buttermilk instead of the lemon and milk. Also I had pumpkin pie spice so I used that in place of all the spices. fabulous recipe! Oh also I used white whole wheat flour and I recommend these to everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgie  S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
These pancakes were absolutly delicious! I hate making changes to recipes, but i had no ginger, or allspice. so i added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and about 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg, and about 1 tablespoon of vanilla(i had vanilla to everything). This recipe made 18 pancakes for me, and i didnt find any reason to add more milk. i let my batter sit for about 30 mins before cooking, and i found it developed a nice fluffiness about it! I will defintly be making these again. It sure is a nice way to use up leftovers of a can of pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States