Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
These were good, but I would add chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I'm not a big fan of pancakes, but for so long though pumpkin pancakes sounded good. With some left-over pumpkin on hand, I decided to give them a try. I thought these were fantasitc - light, fluffy, and not soggy. I think the level of spices are on par with pumpkin pie, so if that's what you like no adjustments are necessary. I stored the left-overs in the refrigerator and warmed them up in the microwave and they were quite acceptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Tastes ok but batter too thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I'm not a pumpkin person but omg these are so goooood stick to ur ribs pancakes this ones a keeper great??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My family really like them and they also freeze well. We still can eat them in February!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Awesome base recipe. Since I didn't have much time I shaved off a little time by starting with Original Aunt Jemima pancake mix. I cut out the flour, white sugar, baking soda and baking powder. Instead of the seperate spices, I used 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice. I used the lemon zest, but not the lemon juice. They were super yummy and light. My daughter's thirteen year old sleepover friends seemed to really enjoy them. Great recipe Chef John. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msccar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Awesome! Best pancakes i've ever had in 40 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These were good. Not sure that they were SO good that they made it worth the effort. I had no lemon zest so I had to skip it, and I didn't realize till after that I'd totally forgotten the ginger. :( Sad. I did NOT think these were spicy at all (but I did forget the ginger). I would definitely put more spice in next time. I think buttermilk would do something for these also, maybe I'll try next time. Anyways, they tasted pretty fantastic with some real Vermont maple syrup, but any pancakes taste pretty good with that stuff on 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I love the taste of these; the pumpkin stands out and the warm spices compliment it very nicely. I should note that I just substituted all the spices listed for a teaspoon or so of pumpkin pie spice. I'll definitely make these again someday, but I think i'll only be adding 3/4 of a teaspoon of spices because it was a little overpowering. Either that, or i'll just add more pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
These pancakes were delicious!! I used 1 1/2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice in place of the ones shown and skipped the lemon zest as well. They cook up very moist which we loved! These don't even need syrup - a little butter and they are perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States