Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I had originally planned to make this recipe for Thanksgiving Day brunch but due to revised work schedules we had to have an earlier Thanksgiving dinner. After promising this brunch to the family I made it for supper the night before Thanksgiving instead...not unheard of to have pancakes for supper in this family...lol. The only modifications to the recipe was to use half whole wheat flour and orange juice and zest as I forgot to buy a lemon. Served these with real maple syrup, bacon and fresh fruit on the side. They turned out very nicely and the family absolutely loved this new variation of pancakes! My youngest loves to eat these plain for a snack as well. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I agree that the spice balance is a little off, too overpowering in some and it kind of washes out a lot of the pumpkin, but I feel the same way about some pumpkin pie recipes. I'll tweak it a bit and find a balance I like. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
The batter was definitely thick, I had to add an additional 1/2 cup of milk. I also used all brown sugar and 1 cup white and 1 cup whole wheat flour. I made a sample pancake and had to bump up the spices considerably. An extra tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon as well. I thought they were just OK. Husband not a fan at all. In the end I wish I had added some walnuts or pecans or something. I was disappointed I really wanted to like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
WOW!!! These were great and my kids loved them. I did alter it a bit though. I left out the ginger, and added 1 tablespoon more of brown sugar, 1/4 cup more milk and unsalted butter to cook them. They came out light and fluffy. Just DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hot Cookin' Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I didn't have any lemons to zest, so I left that out, but these pancakes were absolutely delicious! Oh, and I used egg beaters and rice milk instead of regular milk, but still they came out beautifully. Fluffy and flavorful. Oh, and I didn't have allspice so I substituted clove... Thanks for the terrific easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I gave it 4 stars only because I think you need to add a little more milk. I added at least a 1/2 cup more to make them not so thick. I also added a 1/2 tsp. vanilla just because i like the flavor. And I guess to make them a "bit" more healthy, instead of the vegetable oil, I added applesauce. Other then that, i loved them. So did my hubby who is picky about pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
The spices were a bit strong. Also, the middle stayed mushy. Unfortunately, they really weren't worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I had saved this recipe to make for my family and when I woke up this morning I didn't really feel like cooking. So, I sort of followed it. I used instant pancake mix (Aunt Jemima Original Instant) and added the pumpkin, allspice, and cinnamon. My kids loved it! One of our neighbors girls was over and said they were awesome! They said it would have been even better with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
best pancakes I've had in a while. Needed another 1/4 to 1/2 cup of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I followed the directions exactly, and they came out perfectly. My wife and I both loved them. The mixture was not too thick, as some people commented. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States