Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Tastes ok but batter too thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I'm not a pumpkin person but omg these are so goooood stick to ur ribs pancakes this ones a keeper great??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My family really like them and they also freeze well. We still can eat them in February!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Awesome base recipe. Since I didn't have much time I shaved off a little time by starting with Original Aunt Jemima pancake mix. I cut out the flour, white sugar, baking soda and baking powder. Instead of the seperate spices, I used 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice. I used the lemon zest, but not the lemon juice. They were super yummy and light. My daughter's thirteen year old sleepover friends seemed to really enjoy them. Great recipe Chef John. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msccar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Awesome! Best pancakes i've ever had in 40 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These were good. Not sure that they were SO good that they made it worth the effort. I had no lemon zest so I had to skip it, and I didn't realize till after that I'd totally forgotten the ginger. :( Sad. I did NOT think these were spicy at all (but I did forget the ginger). I would definitely put more spice in next time. I think buttermilk would do something for these also, maybe I'll try next time. Anyways, they tasted pretty fantastic with some real Vermont maple syrup, but any pancakes taste pretty good with that stuff on 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I love the taste of these; the pumpkin stands out and the warm spices compliment it very nicely. I should note that I just substituted all the spices listed for a teaspoon or so of pumpkin pie spice. I'll definitely make these again someday, but I think i'll only be adding 3/4 of a teaspoon of spices because it was a little overpowering. Either that, or i'll just add more pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
These pancakes were delicious!! I used 1 1/2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice in place of the ones shown and skipped the lemon zest as well. They cook up very moist which we loved! These don't even need syrup - a little butter and they are perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This was a decent pancake, but I thought the lemon zest over powered the pumpkin and spice, I will probably go back to a different recipe that I used previously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This had really good flavor but was a little bit dense. i'll definitely make it again, but will use some kind of leavening trick to give it a little more poof. still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juniper

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States