Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
We all loved it. Used organic pumpkin pie mix so I left out the related spices. Everything else was as written. Let any pancake batter sit a minute after mixing to make fluffier cakes. Thanks again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I used 1/2 tsp less sugar added some allspice, 1/8 tsp clove and no oil. It was great. I added milk, but will try the recipe as is next time. They were pretty fluffy with 1/4 c more milk, but might be better without the added fluid. Oh, I made this recipe for 3 servings and used a whole egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Yum! I made these with steamed and mashed butternut squash instead of pumpkin, and they were amazing! A couple other tweaks based on what I had on hand: didn't use allspice, added a bit of nutmeg and cloves (not too much); used melted coconut oil in place of veg oil; used navel orange instead of lemon juice and zest. I think the hint of orange really added to it! I mixed chopped pecans into half the batter. Made a hot pear topping which complimented it wonderfully by cooking one mashed and one chopped bartlett pear with pure maple syrup, a bit of OJ, cinnamon, and cardamom. A wonderful fall brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
My son loved these pancakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
These were wonderful! We made a vegan version using almond milk and Ener-G Egg Replacer. We also added some chopped pecans to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyloewenthal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Finally a pumpkin pancake recipe that doesn't disappoint! Chef John has done it again! His blueberry muffins got the title of the best blueberry muffins ever with my son and his friends. These pancakes will be high on our list too. Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
These were nice. We used spelt flour, butter-flavoured rice bran oil and chai syrup. Didn't bother with the zest. Our pancakes were very moist and a little heavy. I expected them to be fluffier. Lemon and brown sugar spread over went with the pumpkin well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This turned out very good. But watch the pancakes will cook fast on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
We tried this morning and everyone loved them including my picky eater. I used half whole wheat and half white flour. I also added some ground flax seed. It made the batter really thick so I thinned it out with a little extra milk and some water. Also added some enjoy life mini chocolate chips. Served it with real maple syrup, ground pecans and fresh blueverries. It was very time consuming but I think next time I will use 2 frying pans. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Excellent as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States