Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
The batter was definitely thick, I had to add an additional 1/2 cup of milk. I also used all brown sugar and 1 cup white and 1 cup whole wheat flour. I made a sample pancake and had to bump up the spices considerably. An extra tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon as well. I thought they were just OK. Husband not a fan at all. In the end I wish I had added some walnuts or pecans or something. I was disappointed I really wanted to like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
WOW!!! These were great and my kids loved them. I did alter it a bit though. I left out the ginger, and added 1 tablespoon more of brown sugar, 1/4 cup more milk and unsalted butter to cook them. They came out light and fluffy. Just DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hot Cookin' Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I didn't have any lemons to zest, so I left that out, but these pancakes were absolutely delicious! Oh, and I used egg beaters and rice milk instead of regular milk, but still they came out beautifully. Fluffy and flavorful. Oh, and I didn't have allspice so I substituted clove... Thanks for the terrific easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I gave it 4 stars only because I think you need to add a little more milk. I added at least a 1/2 cup more to make them not so thick. I also added a 1/2 tsp. vanilla just because i like the flavor. And I guess to make them a "bit" more healthy, instead of the vegetable oil, I added applesauce. Other then that, i loved them. So did my hubby who is picky about pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
The spices were a bit strong. Also, the middle stayed mushy. Unfortunately, they really weren't worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I had saved this recipe to make for my family and when I woke up this morning I didn't really feel like cooking. So, I sort of followed it. I used instant pancake mix (Aunt Jemima Original Instant) and added the pumpkin, allspice, and cinnamon. My kids loved it! One of our neighbors girls was over and said they were awesome! They said it would have been even better with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
best pancakes I've had in a while. Needed another 1/4 to 1/2 cup of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I followed the directions exactly, and they came out perfectly. My wife and I both loved them. The mixture was not too thick, as some people commented. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
My family loved them! I read the reviews so I used 2 cups of milk and thought it was perfect. Not too sweet and lots of flavor. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I just made these amazing pancakes... Super delicious!! They were fluffy and just perfect. My husband and I are lactose intolerant so we used our Fat-free Lactaid milk and we also used Splenda. We were very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States