Chef John's Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was wonderful! I made it for Thanksgiving morning and it was a hit. I glazed the rolls rather than the coating of frosting in the pictures and then garnished with pumpkin seeds. Will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamcakes
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Made this recipe for a fundraiser. They look and smell great! Topped with Halloween decorations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I mixed these up a couple days before Thanksgiving and froze them, right in the pan after the 2nd rise but prior to baking them. Took them out of the freezer to thaw then popped them in the oven the morning after Thanksgiving. They were perfect! Moist and light, just the right texture with lots of cinnamon flavor and just a hint of pumpkin. My tip, as with any yeast bread, don't overdo the flour and don't overwork the dough. You need just enough flour for dough to come together and only use enough when rolling them out so that they don't stick. The dough should be soft and pliable. The only thing I changed was the icing, used my own recipe for cream cheese icing and sprinkled chopped pecans on top instead of the pumpkin seeds. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was my first attempt at homemade cinnamon rolls, and they turned out great. As per the other reviews, I was careful with the addition of the flour and don't know exactly how much I ended up using. I baked them for about 25 minutes. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I didn't use all of the flour, just added the second part as needed while I kneaded the dough. I loved the rolls themselves and have gotten some rave reviews. I made them at night, and let them sit in the fridge overnight. To help with the rise in the morning, I put the rolls in a cold oven, filled a shallow pan with boiling water and set it underneath for 30 minutes. Then I took both pans out and preheated the oven.The reason I didn't give this 5 stars was the icing. Mine came out lumpy both times I made it. Next time, I am definitely finding a new icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Use the whole can of pumpkin puree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
It definitely called for too much cinnamon. I also added a little more pumpkin than called for. But overall, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
CAREFULL WITH THE FLOUR!!! It's not expressed enough how important a SOFT dough is for this recipe or any other cinnamon roll recipe. Add your first half of flour as per the video, mix, then slowly and patiently use only whats needed. I used nearly half LESS flour at times, and sometimes I used all the recommended amount, the kind of yeast, water temperature room temperature, humidity etc etc etc all effects this... USE CAUTION WHEN ADDING FLOUR! Taste & Awesomeness is 6 stars, however the directions need to be more accurate with the flour... ONLY AS NEEDED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
These were a bit of work and are really only good for a short time. The frosting gets a little weird after a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMZCOZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Chef John's Asparagus Tart

A tasty pastry boat floats your baked asparagus on a sea of deliciousness.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States