Chef John's Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
made these today to go with my giant pot of chili... got a few things that are wrong with the original recipe.. i tried making it as written, except using bread flour instead of all purpose. after 3 cups of the flour was added the dough was looking pretty dry. i added the rest of the flour, another egg and about 1 tbsp of milk to moisten it up a bit more. i dont know if it was so dry to begin with because the different flour... also used 1/4 cup milk and no sugar instead of water with sugar added to proof the yeast before adding the wet and drys. the frosting is incredibly drippy. i like thicker cream cheese frosting on my cinnamon rolls so i adjusted it in an attempt to thicken it up.. didnt work too well, but did help a little. i also only added about 1 tbsp of milk to the frosting. 1/4 cup would have definitely been too much. baked at 350 for 15 minutes and they came out perfect. given all the changes i made, its a 5 star recipe.. but as written, it was a huge pain in the butt... had i not changed anything, it'd most likely be a 3 star at best so thats how i will rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamcakes
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Made this recipe for a fundraiser. They look and smell great! Topped with Halloween decorations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I LOVED these pumpkin cinnamon rolls, but had to mark it down for the flour and bake time changes. I cut the flour down almost a cup, and also baked it for only 15-17 minutes, just until light brown. Follow the rule to stop adding flour when the dough pulls away from most of the bottom. You can always add more flour (even after it has risen until doubled in size), but once you add too much you can't take it out! I also used a cream cheese frosting instead. Tip: I used evaporated milk in place of heavy cream since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
These were a bit of work and are really only good for a short time. The frosting gets a little weird after a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMZCOZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was wonderful! I made it for Thanksgiving morning and it was a hit. I glazed the rolls rather than the coating of frosting in the pictures and then garnished with pumpkin seeds. Will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I mixed these up a couple days before Thanksgiving and froze them, right in the pan after the 2nd rise but prior to baking them. Took them out of the freezer to thaw then popped them in the oven the morning after Thanksgiving. They were perfect! Moist and light, just the right texture with lots of cinnamon flavor and just a hint of pumpkin. My tip, as with any yeast bread, don't overdo the flour and don't overwork the dough. You need just enough flour for dough to come together and only use enough when rolling them out so that they don't stick. The dough should be soft and pliable. The only thing I changed was the icing, used my own recipe for cream cheese icing and sprinkled chopped pecans on top instead of the pumpkin seeds. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
CAREFULL WITH THE FLOUR!!! It's not expressed enough how important a SOFT dough is for this recipe or any other cinnamon roll recipe. Add your first half of flour as per the video, mix, then slowly and patiently use only whats needed. I used nearly half LESS flour at times, and sometimes I used all the recommended amount, the kind of yeast, water temperature room temperature, humidity etc etc etc all effects this... USE CAUTION WHEN ADDING FLOUR! Taste & Awesomeness is 6 stars, however the directions need to be more accurate with the flour... ONLY AS NEEDED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written except used half and half instead of heavy cream just because that is what I had in the refrigerator. I also only added about 3 tablespoons of milk to glaze because it looked like it was getting to thin. I thought the rolls were dry so the next time I am going to try this recipe with less flour and less baking time, like others have suggested. The cinnamon filling was perfect. I will try to make these one more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I can not believe these have almost a 5 star rating. The texture was majorly off. These are edible and that's all... There's not enough instruction on the flour amount to use or the icing. My icing turned out lumpy, I should have gone with my 1st instinct to whip the cream cheese then add SIFTED powdered sugar then add milk as needed. The recipe states to just whisk it all together?? This needs major revamping. Iv'e made cinnamon rolls before and they have never turned out this bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Asparagus Tart

A tasty pastry boat floats your baked asparagus on a sea of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States