Chef John's Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This bread was delicious and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Oh ya, this is a keeper. I used roasted butternut squash from my garden instead of the canned pumpkin. This bread takes very little effort to put together. I made it the night before and baked it the next morning. Easy, easy, easy. The texture of the bread is perfect, the crust has a nice chew. I thought it was one of the best breads I’ve made in some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Delicious and pretty bread. EASY!! Make this. You wont be disappointed. My co-workers inhaled it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
What a nice bread this is. Really crunchie, chewy crust, airy interior. Beautiful. I could have probably let it rise longer after shaping it into a loaf but the loaf seemed to be spreading rather than rising and I was afraid I would de-gas it when I scored the top. No worries though the loaf really rose nicely in the oven. Follow the baking directions - a friend of mine who made this decided that the baking time was too long and took it out too soon - her bread was a little doughy in the center. This would make excellent bread bowls for chili or stew. I would expect to get 4 individual sized bread bowls from this recipe. Thanks Chef John for another 'keeper' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Delightful artisan bread! It's texture is spot on; chewy crust, substantial bite of the crumb and the consistancy of the dough was beautiful. I only let the dough to rise for one hour, and then continued with the recipe. It's great plain or toasted with cream cheese. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Incredible bread. Sure it takes a long time, but if you let it rise overnight, that's the bulk of the time. The crust is great! (if you follow his baking tips) and is a great seasonal bread for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This bread is very easy to make and it is wonderful! I made two batches at the same time. Going to make it again today. It's good for soups, stews and sandwiches. Electric knife makes it easy to slice for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Delicious! Everyone at our dinner raved about it. I let it rise for 30+ hours (didn't have time to finish it the first night), but otherwise followed the recipe. It wasn't as pumpkiny as I expected, so next time I might use a whole cup. But otherwise, it was great. Thanks, Chef John! I'm glad I found you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This was the first recipe I tried with "pumpkin puree" or "pure pumpkin". I wasn't sure what to buy at the store, because all of the cans had photos of pumpkin pie slices on them. Finally after some reading I was able to determine that the ones with less carbs and sugars did not include the pie spices. I've made this at least a dozen times now. Two of those times I doubled the batch, which made it harder and longer to mix by hand. I also placed both dough balls on the same baking sheet, and they fused together during cooking. I got some jokes about the fused appearance, mostly Star Trek references to "mind melding" (because they look somewhat like two brains) and other (somewhat adolescent but funnier) comments about the shapes. The taste of the doubled-recipe was the same, though slicing around the parts that had fused together wasn't ideal. The next time I double it, I think I'll separate into different mixing bowls and different baking sheets. The pumpkin flavor is very subtle, and I find it a pleasant addition. The aroma gets stronger when the bread is sliced and toasted, especially when done on a skillet with a little butter or cooking spray. It never becomes overpowering though. It's been a great hit for adults and kids alike, especially when used for sandwiches, especially grilled cheese sandwiches. Pairs well with cream cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Doughy inside. Very poor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States