Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Excellent. I turned up my oven to 300 since I was low on time and it was still great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Oh my goodness!! You will never go back to crock-pot pulled pork after this! We used "Butt Rub" that we picked up in a specialty shop, but I think it is the liquid smoke that makes the difference. So, so simple but it tastes delicious. I served it with sauteed cabbage instead of the traditional slaw. Used a gigantic pork butt so we have plenty to freeze for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I made this for a party this weekend - so good! I've done slow cooker pulled pork but this wins on convenience (put it in the oven and forget it!) and the taste is amazing! Another winner from Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I was given sizeable chunk of smoked pork left over from a picnic. Since it would need to be reheated anyway I decided to try this recipe. Since it was previously smoked I omitted that part. Gave it a generous rub and wrapped it in foil to reheat and bake at 350° for about 2-1/2 hrs. Followed remaining recipe directions. It was amazing. Everyone that tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This is a great recipe. I have made pulled pork in my crock pot and it has never been as tender as this method. I purchased a 4.5lb pork shoulder, seasoned the meat (mustard covered by a dry rub)for 5 hours, sliced 2 medium onions, lined my dutch oven with the onions, added 1 ramekin with water and then put it in the oven for 12 hours at 225F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I made this recipe tonight; It was amazing I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Okay - so is this the best I've ever had? No. Is it WAY up there? Yes!!! Much better than any in a slow cooker I've ever done. I made this and popped some in the crockpot anyway, just in case, as my husband was returning from a long trip & requested my pulled pork, as he was overseas & no pork products for a month. I decided to step it up a little & try this. Let it suffice to say the other is still in the crockpot in the fridge. I made it EXACTLY as outlined. He was happy, and grateful that I tried this new and better incarnation. I used a rub from Sandfly BBQ in Savannah and Johnny Harris BBQ sauce, on homemade bread. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I love love love that I don't need a slow cooker to make this! It's in the oven and smells divine ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
So easy and a big hit with my guest. Highly recommend this recipes, you can always rely on Chief John for fabulous results especially if you are like me who loves to try new recipes on her guest at parties ha ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chad G.
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have made this at least a dozen times since the video was published on youtube several years ago. As written it is 5 stars. I have since done a few things to add to the flavor and learn from my mistakes. I do not have a Dutch oven but a large roasting pan with lid works fine. The first time I made it I had 2 pork butts weighing in at 15 lbs total (cooks in twelve hours no matter what size butts you have). Just remember that the more you make the more fat will leak to the bottom of your vessel. I had so much fat that first time that it flooded the ramekins. I now set the butt and ramekins on a mesh stand that sits perfectly inside my roaster – about an inch high (you can easily make one with heavy duty chicken wire). I cut the top off of a small to medium sized onion and the tops off of a small bulb of garlic and sit them on the stand which permeates the meat and adds a nice pungency to the flavor and aroma. Several people have told me that this is the best pulled pork they have ever had, without knowing that it had not been properly 'smoked'. I chop it very rough and remove most of the fat so that the pork speaks for itself. This pork is so juicy and tender it is surreal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States