Chef John's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
I am hooked. Make these a few times a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
sooooo good! my family devoured it and my sister asked for the recipe. i ended up coming it a minute less per side to avoid burning. don't know if it was new, my oven, or the fact or was 85 degrees in my house, but mine needed a bit less time. thanks chef john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Benak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Unless you are a seasoned cook; I wouldn't attempt this before guests come over. I found it to create a lot of mess around my kitchen. But the pita was wonderful, and if you don't normally use a lot of salt, I would cut it down to 1 teaspoon. Sorry, even though the taste was great, I'll be buying mine in the future :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACQUIELOM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Made exactly as written, except did not have a mixer, so blended and kneaded by hand. They came out perfectly! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lolo_Brown
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
All but one of my pitas puffed up as shown in the video, but it was still easy enough to make a pocket in it. These turned out much smaller than I was expecting. Maybe next time I will cut into 6 rather than 8 to make them a little bigger. I never got my dough to look as pretty as the video, but these are delicious even if they are a little less than perfect. Probably added a little less salt than called for, but that was the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Thank you so much for this recipe. I was afraid making this would have a bad outcome because I have no experience with making any type of bread, and I don't really bake much, but these came out perfectly!! And they're delicious as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CY
Photo by jdouglas31
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This is delish! It is better than store bought. Fluffy and fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Easy and delicious!! I've never made homemade pita before and since my 2 year old likes it so much I thought I'd give it a try. This was better than the farmer's market fresh pita. Thanks again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
First I made Yogurt cheese to get the whey (liquid) to use to jump start my homemade sauerkraut. I used the yogurt cheese, shredded cukes, and the juice to make the Tzatziki Sauce. When I made the Pita breads, I had to turn down the heat to make sure it was medium heat or they wouldn't puff up like the video. It also helped to use bread flour instead of all purpose flour. All a success the first time!! Thank you, Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
The best recipe ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Hills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States