Chef John's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfect. My whole family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Do as he says and it will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
First time I ever even tried making pita bread and this was awesome! I skipped steps 7 and 8 and just wen straight to cooking the pitas and they still were perfect! Everyone was so impressed that I made them from scratch and they tasted just like the ones from the store. Great with hummus and for wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Was totally awesome and made it exactly as called but the times for cooking are off. 30-40 seconds then flip is all that's necessary on med. high heat. If you wait 3 min. you'll be serving black manhole covers instead of pita bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulyman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Awesome, I followed the directions just as stated( skipped the video) the fluffed up and browned perfectly. Whipped up some turkey salad, stuffed my pita and everyone in the house enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
wow - easy and delicious. I wanted pita bread for gyros, so I made 10 thinner pitas with this, instead of 8. Turned out perfect. I plan on making pita chips with the few I have leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Tried it. It was so good almost brought us to tears. Sea salt was the key for us I think. So easy my 7 year old nearly made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I grew up on pita bread and this recipe isn't what I expected. Middle Eastern pita bread is very soft and a little chewy as well as thinner. This recipe is a little salty, very soft but it doesn't have the chewiness. Two problems I found making it with a cast iron skillet was that the bread took on a strange flavor and medium high was way too hot and it scortched my first one. It's an easy recipe but next time I'll cut the salt way down and try baking it on a baking stone in the oven on high heat, lower rack. I'm not sure if that will help with the chewiness though. Chewy and soft is what makes a great pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was such an easy recipe to make, great for a first time bread maker like me. It was my first time using a Kitchenaid and I was very pleased. They do take a long time to cook (almost an hour for 8). Next time I might have two skillets going to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
My first time making pita. It turned out great. I used a bread machine to make the dough. I also used bread flour instead of all purpose flour. I think I'll try all purpose flour next time to compare. Chef John is right; these were better than any pita I have bought in a store. I liked experimenting by rolling them out to different thicknesses. 1/4" like the recipe was great; I also liked thicker pieces. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States