Chef John's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
The video is right- it is MUCH better then store bought. I loved it! The only thing is that it was too salty for my taste. I will reduce this next time. Also, I had to leave mid-way, so I popped the dough in the fridge to rise. The dough still doubled in size, but it did not form nice pockets with the dough being cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mflo
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
These had great flavor and were very easy to make, followed the exact recipe, watching the video makes things easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Third time I made these : full puff-age!!! On about half of them. They're so cool and balloon-like. And delicious. I don't rely on them all to puff perfectly but they're so yummy that who cares? I just put the filling on top rather than inside and eat it like a taco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Great recipe. My only aggravation is that only 5 or 6 of the 8 pitas puff up. I am sure it is something I am doing wrong with the rolling out. Regardless, I have made this recipe three + times, and they taste great and 70-80% of the pitas puff up like a balloon... Oh, and let me say I love Chef John's video (demo and voice). He just has a great presentation style! JackL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Great basic recipe, but the directions need to be tweaked. DO NOT heat your pan to med high and put oil in it, you will burn your pita bread before it is fully cooked and will never get to the stage where it puffs up (this happened to me). Instead, medium heat worked just fine with next to no oil in the pan. I recommend using no oil or just using a non-stick spray. Otherwise, the dough recipe is GREAT. If the instructions had worked as written this would have been 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
SO TASTY! I see a lot of complaints about non-puffs, well, mine didn't either but they tasted better than any flatbread I've ever bought in my life. I started smooshing the bubbles on the last few I cooked, and got much better results. You gotta smoosh! It spreads the air through the sealed pita and really helps with that pocket. As for the pro-bakers, that works, but grilling it just gives it that to die for flavor that you just can't get any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmeliaBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I never knew Pita bread could taste so good. I will never buy Pita bread from a store ever again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now. First time to eat immediately...they we're amazing but took some work to form pockets. Prbly because they we're still hot. The 2nd time I made them a day ahead of time to use the next day with pulled chicken. The pockets worked amazing and the taste was incredible. Easy to make but I do recommend you watch the full video for real success. Chef John makes it look easy because it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I thought these were okay. The recipe was pretty simple to make. I mixed, kneaded, and proofed in my clear glass Kitchen-Aid bowl, that comes with a lid. The rise time is really the longest part. As far as the taste on the overall recipe, I am not sure what to compare it to, as I can't really remember ever having homemade pita bread. This recipe was kind of like a slightly thicker and sweeter tasting naan bread. I opened the center, of the halves, but it was more kind of like cutting into a thick piece of bread. It didn't really get a pocket to it. Although, the flavor was fine I think I prefer naan bread slightly better flavor wise. Also, this was much heavier and denser, for some reason. So, I am not sure how one would make a meal out of it. After one whole piece, with nothing else, I was absolutely full. Now, I am curious what other homemade pita breads taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by roseanimal
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This was a wonderful recipe! The dough was so simple to make and I easily found a way to make and eat dinner while waiting the two hours for it to rise. When I placed the pitas in my skillet it puffed up so nicely!! I was expecting a HUGE fail but now I've completely fell in love with these pitas and will be making them every weekend! Did I mention they tasted amazing too? Light, fluffy, and so bread-y, they were exactly what I was looking for in a pita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roseanimal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States