Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Easy and delicious. I'll be making this one of my favorite go to desserts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is my favourite pineapple upside down cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Nephin-Webb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atikokan, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
DRY!!!!! This was not the gooey, buttery cake I love and remember from childhood. The topping was delicious, but the cake was dry, crumbly, and had very little pineapple (or any other) flavor. I have lost my mother's recipe and will have to keep experimenting; this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Wow! This is my favorite recipe for "Pineapple Upside-down Cake"... I'm surprised at some of the low reviews or those that said dry. I admit I used canned and maybe that's where the extra moisture came from but I'm wondering if some with problems with this recipe were from pineapple that wasn't ripe/juicy enough. I haven't had the "rum" since I don't usually have alcohol on hand but I've used rum extract (1/2 tsp) along with enough pineapple juice to equal a tablespoon... The brown butter flavor is what really sets this off along with the cardommon... I'm an experienced baker who know's what she likes so I used maraschino cherries in mine as well.. :) Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Emerald alexia
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Looks great! Added some more milk and I think it was a good idea. Very moist and perfect looking. With blueberries too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I've made this three times. It's better than Cats. I want to make it again and again...If you had a hard time with sticking, you probably didn't fully cover the bottom with pineapples, I had a little sticking this last time and that was the reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was not a hit in my household, Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
It was awesome, I did make some changes after reading all the reviews. I added more butter to the cake batter and in the brown sugar mixture. I also soaked dried tart cherries in the rum and put them around the pineapple chunks. When I make it again and I definitely will, I will double the cake batter and put more rum soaked cherries on it. Truly amazing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
The cake came out ok but I think it ridiculous to try turning a cast iron skillet. I did once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howard, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States