Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe on Xmas Day after I read a dozen interviews so I made a couple of adjustments. First, I did leave my roast out of the refrig for 6 hours before I cooked it. Take your roast out at 9:30AM, wait 6 hours. I started cooking at 4PM for a 7 lb 1 oz roast (bone in) that I ran longer than the prescribed time. The calculation would have dictated 35 minutes at 500 degrees, I added 4 minutes for a total of 39 minutes and it came out a PERFECT MEDIUM (hot pink, very slight red center, with the outside being close to well done but nice and crisp). Roast was on the table at 6:45PM. During the afternoon I prepped the rest of my meal easily. For me, I am going to use a different recipe in the future since my family is not a rare meat (red center) group - 5 minutes for each pound of meat up to 4 lbs (original recipe) and then add 80 seconds for each pound over 4 lbs to get the 39 minutes for a 7 lb roast. This timing got me the hot pink/slight red center for families that want to avoid the undercooked roast. You MUST get your roast to room temperature before cooling for this timing and oven setting to work. If you don't watch the video, roast your meat "bones down" so the crust gets crispy. I hope this refinement of the recipe helps people avoid the undercooking that appears to be a regular outcome using the original time calculation. We have an electric GE oven with precise settings if that helps and had the roast dead center in the oven while it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Wow how much easier can this be. Kept worrying about the oven being too cool inside after an hour passed but this method worked to a tee. Set it and forget it. Lol. Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
The leftovers taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I had a 13 lb prime rib for Christmas this year. My family all has their tried and true way to make a prime rib. I wanted to try this recipe and WOW!!! It worked great by following the instructions. We had to cook at my son's house. They said the house was getting smoky but that the meat wasn't burning. I told them to keep going! BOY!!! There were 12 of us and they all said it was the best prime rib ever!!!!!! My husband does his own rib rub but we did the butter too so it would brown nicely!!! Going to cook it this way from now on!!!! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamg208

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This method of cooking prime rib is the bomb! You rock Chef John. I bought a 4 rib 8.30 pound rib roast at about 124.00 dollars total. I was super skeptical about that big of a roast working with this method. I never had the courage to try and cook one before now and I am so glad I trusted Chef Johns recommendation on how to cook the perfectly pink prime rib! My house was filled with compliments and the 8.30 pound roast turned out PERFECT! Thank you Chef John! I served this with your twice baked potatoes and I had one happy family on my hands at Christmas Dinner! awesome! Keep those great recipes coming Chef John! You ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I was scared to death but it worked. I will do this every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Used this recipe for Christmas dinner 2013. Always scary to use a new recipe with such an expensive piece of meat, but this was, by far, the best prime rib I've ever made. Definitely 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Followed the directions exactly for a 7 pound prime rib (35 minutes at 500 degrees, then 2 hours in the over) and it came out perfectly. I will use this recipe for prime rib from now on. I've tried packing prime rib in a coat of kosher salt (messy and time consuming)as well as a variety of other regular roasting methods and this method is the easiest and the prime rib was delicious. No need for any other recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My oven probably isn't insulated enough. My roast was definitely at room temp, so that wasn't the problem. The meat was a little on the rare side. But the worst part it was room temperature when served! The butter burned in the oven and created, as others have said, a great deal of smoke. I will not use this recipe again. But I realize that maybe with a better oven and warmer kitchen the outcome would probably have been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is the 4th prime rib I have cooked and I have to say, this method is by far the easiest and best. It was perfectly medium rare with an awesome crust. The only change I made was to season the meat the night before with sea salt, cracked black pepper and garlic powder. I then rubbed it with butter and added more kosher salt and pepper since I really like the outer crust. Like everyone says, the key is to make sure you bring it to room temperature before you cook it. I do have to admit, I was nervous about cutting into it after letting it rest, worried it was going to be too rare...my husband likes his a bit more medium than rare so I gave him the end piece. He told me (jokingly) that if I made it any other way, he was going to give me a black eye! I think it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States