Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Much to my father-in-law's delight, I made this on New Year's Eve. It was dee-lish. I bought the roast too late to let it come to room temperature first, and my roast was between 7 and 8 pounds. I added 5 minutes to the 500-degree cook time to try to compensate, but it was still a bit too rare when I pulled it out, and so we all had another glass of champagne and it went back in the oven with a center cut for 40 minutes more at 425. The house smelled amazing, and we almost ate the whole darn thing that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
You can't go wrong with this recipe, followed it exactly, served for Christmas... Excellent.. OMG the flavor was to die for..Even my 2 teenage grand daughters asked for seconds..This is a keeper and the only way I will make Prime Rib from now on. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Troemel
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Hooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Followed the recipe, had amazing results! I used a remote thermometer and the recipe was spot on. Added whole garlic for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Has to be 5 stars: easy to make, reliable, and extremely tasty recipe. The seasoning was fantastic (herbs de provence) on the prime roast. I actually ate the ribs after removing them (see video) and they are just fantastic. One note to share for folks trying - pay attention to the shape of the roast. If the roast is either long or tall, you will want to let it sit less time in the oven and monitor internal temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly for Christmas Eve dinner and it was PERFECT! Family loved it and everyone wanted to know how we cooked it! It's great knowing that I don't have to stand by the oven trying to get the meat done just right, one less concern! Thank you! Maggie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
1st prime rib dinner EVER, got great, today reading reviews ,yes my smoke detector went off,and yes, next time will add 5mins @ 500 degree in the time calculation, some of guests like a bit more done. But SO Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I Ruined the 2012 Christmas roast, I Vowed not to repeat my mistake. CJ's recipe Saved my roast this year! Rib eye roast is Expensive, even if you find it on sale. The key to the success is getting the roast to ROOM TEMPATURE! It helps ensure even cooking. I took my 9 lb roast out 3 hrs before I cooked it @ 500 deg. for 45 mins. DO NOT OPEN OVEN FOR 2 HRS!! Afterwards, my external thermometer read 134. I had it set for 135. This gave me leeway since the roast was a wee bit cool & pink. My hubby likes med well beef, I heated up my cast iron skillet and seared the slices for just a few seconds. PERFECTION!! I pinky swear to never cook rib roast any other way again!!Thank You Chef John, this is the Best Christmas gift Ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I have tried to make a prime rib or standing rib roast about 4 times already without much success. I tried this recipe this year for Christmas and this was the first time that i can say that i was fully satisfied. I did add some seasonings to the recipe. Onion powder, garlic powder and Adobe. About half a tablespoon off each. And i used half a cup of butter because i had a larger roast. Mine was 6.73 lbs. I let it set out for about 6 hours before it went in the oven. I probably should have let it set out 7. It was well done on the outside for about half an inch. Then the entire inside was medium rare. Absolutely delicious. Thank-you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time for new years day dinner. Turned out perfect!! I did purchase a oven thermometer and checked the accuracy of my oven. My oven is over 23 years old and I had some concerns but to my surprise it was right on! My prime rib was 7.71 pounds so I cooked it for 40 minutes and shut it all off and continued like Chef John said for 2 more hours! Final results, perfection! I have never cooked a prime rib in the oven. I have always cooked it on my Farberware Rotisserie. I was a little concerned but everything went well. Next time though I will use the seasonings we are use to using and love some much. Instead of the Herbs de Provence I will use Quebec Steak Seasoning. That will be the only change. Once again thank you Chef John for another perfect recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herbies Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States