Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I followed it to the letter, but it came out way too raw. We ate the outside tonight. I'll have to roast it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shane O'Neil
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Wow. I made this for New Year's Eve and it was spectacular. By far the best roast I have ever made. Cooked it uncovered and of course fat side up. Did an 8 lbs prime rib and followed the recipe exactly. I resisted the urge to check on it. That was the hardest part. I was nervous because after an hour of turning off the over, it no longer felt warm. It came out a perfect medium rare and wonderfully warm. My guests thoroughly enjoyed it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane O'Neil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Yummy! Great DELICIOUS PERFECT recipe and so easy! So many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I made this for New Year's Eve. I inadvertently left it in the oven for 1 1/2 hours at 500 degrees. I thought for sure it was ruined but I took it out of the oven right away and covered it with foil while I prepared the rest of the dinner. I was amazed when I cut into it and it was juicy and medium rare! The crust was delicious also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I was skeptical with the ease of the directions but make many of Chef John's recipes so gave it a whirl. Being inquisitive I used a remotely placed meat thermometer into the prime rib and monitored it the entire time. As Chef John promised the internal temperature began to rise after about twenty minutes and at the two hour mark was 137 degrees. Cut open, a perfect medium rare, pink and juicy. Everyone loved it and it is now my only Prime Rib recipe! As a side note I also used his Au Jus recipe without the flour and it was amazing as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra Chavez
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Ok I had a 20.14 lb prime rib big one I was so worried. I followed the receipt along with the seasoning and cook time, yes had to do some math to figure it out 1hr and 30min in the oven at 500° shut it off and did not open till 2 hrs 30 min, yes house filled up with smoke had to disable the fire alarms. Prime rib came out perfect so delicious and medium rare. Rave reviews I had to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This has become a Christmas tradition for our family, and it never disappoints! I follow the directions as written, then serve with Chef John's Au Jus, roasted garlic mashed potatoes, and roasted asparagus. It's perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slocomb, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bonifay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I cooked a 16 pound roast for Christmas EXACTLY as Chef John said....500 for 1:15 mins then turned the oven off. I used an internal thermometer and let it go until 130 Internal temp....oh my it was absolutely perfect. Thank you! My Au Jus was not as good but my creamy horseradish saved me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Huge
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Didn't change a thing. This was perfectly cooked and seasoned. My wife and 13 year old son were a bit wary about it being too rare, but one bite from the carving instantly won them over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronxville, New York, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Chef John never fails! Every recipe I have used of his has always been spectacular, this one included! I followed the recipe to the tee, and it was the best Prime Rib, ever! Cooking a 15.25 Prime Rib Roast, I was afraid it wouldn't be cooked enough, but it was perfect! My entire family loved it! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States