Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I have made prime rib at home for years and impressed many of guests but it never is as perfectly cooked like this. It is foolproof!! It's beautiful. Totally amazing served with Chef John's (also seemingly foolproof) Au Jus. With all that being said and we can say it again this method of cooking is amazing......I prefer my own spices and will use them from now on but will always always always prepare it this way with homemade Au Jus. Thank you Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
My husband and I were skeptical but it turned out PERFECT! This is also my first time cooking Prime Rib. We both were amazed how easy and how it was cooked to perfection. I have tried a taste of my husbands Prime Rib while out dining and never cared for the taste. I really do not care for beef roasts but this one surprised me! The only suggestion I have is that we would have placed the the meat on a warmed plated covered with foil, after it was done, while we made the Au Jus which was also very good. I had to put a piece of blue painters tape across the oven door to remind my husband not to open the oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bovey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
We have used this recipe several times and our prime ribs have turned out perfectly! Notice the cook's note at the end of the recipe to figure out the exact cooking time for your size of prime rib. We have cooked several different sizes of prime rib using Chef John's method of calculating the cooking times, and each were cooked to perfection. Thank you for such an easy, perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Park, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This recipe was amazing and so easy. My first time making it and I was a little scared; did not want to mess up such an expensive piece of meat. However, you cannot go wrong with this one. Made a horseradish sauce to eat with it, yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
It doesn't get better than this! Made this for Easter dinner for six, and everyone LOVED it. Every slice had a perfect, tender, pink center, and the brown meat around the edges was amazingly tender and tasty. Melt-in-your mouth good! I didn't change a thing. My roast was 6 lbs, and I cooked for the exact time calculated per Chef John's instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Best recipe ever! I have used this for both a 4.0lb and a 7.2lb roast and each came out PERFECTLY. You can never have enough butter and seasoning on it. Also, if you think you have put enough salt on it, put more. Most of it falls off during the cooking. I also add 2 minutes to the initial time because of loss of heat when opening the door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This recipe works perfectly every time. I cook it in our basement suite oven which is quite old, but the formula is right on. If I had only one oven though, it would be such an inconvenience to tie it up for hours on end. That's my only peeve with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I followed this recipe almost to a T, herbs de Provence butter mixture, room temp roast, however, since my family likes a more med to med well doneness, I added 5 minutes to the 500 degree temperature. I stuck to the two hour sit in my convection oven that I locked so I wouldn't peek, and I Should Not Have Added extra time. I roasted the prime rib in a black cast iron skillet since I was planning on making the au jus immediately after. I should not have added extra time. The roast was med well to well. The au jus was phenomenal per chefs recipe. Don't be worried about the time. Had I not added 5 mins and used convection roast. I should have stuck to 30 mins for my 6 lb roast. I did wrap the roast in foil while I made the au jus. I served it with garlic mashed redskins and fresh green beans. Did I say I should not have added extra time? Trust this recipe! It would have been perfect otherwise. My bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I received this recipe in the AllRecipe Magazine and tempted my very first prime rib. It came out perfect with the seasoning, timing and method of cooking. The only thing I need to figure out is how to serve the meat hot. My family didn't like eating not-hot meat. Does anyone have any suggestions because the rib came out perfectly medium rare. I made the horseradish cream sauce on this website and it was perfect too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Have done this method several times works great , the best part is cutting it because it has already draw the juices back in. a ten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullit bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deerfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States