Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This is a fool proof method for making the best medium rare prime rib. Your seasonings can be changed according to your preference, but what's listed works perfectly. It's the cooking method that is the key. It cannot be stressed enough, the roast MUST be at room temperature in order for this to work. If it is the least bit cold in the middle of the roast, you will come out with a very rare roast. A mistake I only made once because I was worried about leaving it out to get warm. Don't worry! It will be fine! I usually purchase 4.5 to 5 lb roasts and take it out of the fridge for a minimum of 5 hours to be sure it is room temp. It comes out absolutely PERFECT and juicy every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Absolutely, the easiest way to make perfect prime rib every time. But do not be tempted to open up the oven door until time is up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia52

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Dover, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Prime rib was perfect, juicy and perfectly pink. Followed the recipe exactly with a 4 lb prime rib. Loved it! Love the video to really get a good sense of how to apply the butter and herbs. I'll be trying more of your recipes in the near future for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I wish there was an ability to give 10 stars! Chef John, I followed your directions... (except I was all out of Kosher salt so I only used sea salt, dang it)...and I got rave reviews. Due to having big eaters and more people than normal, I made an 11.13 pound rib roast and the directions worked for that big of an item. I couldn't believe it. Thank you so much. I have deleted the other prime/rib roast from my recipe box and now only have yours. Words cannot express my gratitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I was really skeptical - I'm a thermometer checker with my meats and keeping the oven off for two hours with the door closed about killed me! I had a 7 pound prime rib roast and with the exception of the seasoning (I make my own), I followed the recipe exactly as written - roasting at 500 degrees for 35 minutes and then oven off for 2 hours. Turned out perfect. My husband was beyond impressed. I also made Chef John's Beef Au Jus. A meal my entire family loved. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNICKSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durand, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My family celebrated Thanksgiving with my wife's sister, while I shivered and shook with with some kind of crud. On Friday I followed the recipe and technique and was able to present a very good prime rib for the family. Our oven is a good gas unit and the meet was a bit undercooked for all but me. The next time I will increase the minutes at 500 degrees and make some changes in the seasoning. Tonight the leftover roast is simmering in the stock pot with potatoes, carrots, mushrooms and onions for a great beef stew for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prischap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Imperial, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
OMG .. I have never been able to do Prime Rib correctly and I finally cracked it using this recipe. Thank you thank you thank you! The only alteration I made was to do the math (# of lbs by 5 mins per lb) and then I added about 5 extra minutes to the total time (ie my roast needed 19.5 mins in the 500 F oven, and I did it for 25 mins) this was simply because I wanted some meat on the outside edge closer to medium (for me) and medium rare inside for hubby. The plan worked to perfection and gave us exactly what we wanted for a fantastic New Years Eve dinner. I have never been a huge fan of prime rib and this recipe has won me over. I'll prepare this again and again, a big hit! (I might cut back on the pepper next time, but this wasn't a huge issue, just personal preference I also made Chef John's Au Jus to go with this and it was incredible; like liquid gold as my husband said! )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Brooks Fernandez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clevedon, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Cdedriver
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I've never written a review here before, but I just had to for this. Today I cooked a 6.2 lb rib and it was perfect. The only thing different that I did was to use fresh Rosemary and Thyme, minced, and 10 cloves of garlic, minced, in the butter. I didn't have Herbs de Provence, and did have the fresh herbs, so that's what I used. I'd seen the garlic idea from the Garlic Prime Rib recipe on this website. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly! We do a rib for Christmas every year and before, it was a shoot, it seemed, as to whether the roast would come out medium rare or too done. This recipe has changed that for good!! The hardest part was not opening the door until the 2 hours was done. Otherwise, it was easy peasy! And SO good. I've attached a picture. Thank you so much for giving us a foolproof way to perfectly cook a standing rib! As a few others have said, I'd give it more stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I know this is a culinary no-no, but we don't link pink meat, so while I partially use this method, I didn't do it exactly as Chef John suggests. I had a 4 lb boneless rib roast, which I let sit out at room temp for 4 hours. While the meat was coming to room temp I also let my butter sit out to soften. I placed the butter in a small bowl, added about 1 Tbsp of extra virgin olive oil, 4 tsp of coarse kosher salt, 2 tsp freshly ground black pepper, 6 minced garlic cloves, and 2 tsp of thyme. (We don't care for Herbs de Provence.) I mixed this up with a fork then slathered the meat all over with it. I roasted the meat for 20 minutes at 500 degrees to get a nice crust, then I reduced the oven temp to 325 and continued roasting for another two hours. This gave us meat which was almost well done. It was still absolutely delicious this way, and perfectly flavored and juicy. Served with some twice baked potatoes and green beans. Perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Disable your smoke detectors if you prepare your roast this way! My oven cooled down much faster than two hours I feel because we had to open the windows. So, my roast was rare. I should have stuck to my instincts in preparing this cut of beef, but thought I'd give the method a try. I also did not use butter as the cut is fatty enough, nor the seasoning suggested. I rubbed crushed garlic, kosher salt, and peppercorns over the top & sides and made the 'Chef John' AuJus which worked very well and even left a great flavor on the palete of my fastidious 7yr old Asperger son - AFTER I finished cooking the meat, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States