Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I'm not sure what went wrong but I used my remote thermometer to keep an eye on the prime rib. It reached temperature in less than half the time this recipe called for. If I would have let it stay in the oven for the time the recipe called for, I would have eaten a very well done roast with the tenderness of a shoe. Next time I cook prime rib, I'll go back to the way I used to cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
If it is possible to give 6 stars then you got it Chef John. My husband was very skeptical about turning off the oven and leaving it sit for 2 hrs but once he bit into the first piece he was sold. Thank you very much and Merry Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
well, i was a big skeptic....i am now a convert. i don't make this often, but i will make it like this from now on. no stressing over how high to put the oven at what time....came out perfect. and i mean perfect. thanks chef john for the perfect formula!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this recipe last night for our Christmas Eve dinner. I must say that I was extremely nervous because I prepared a 14.7 pound 5 rib roast! Even though the recipe claims that the "math" is the trick, I was concerned that putting my roast in for 74 minutes at 500 was going to burn the outside. Well, just to let you all know, it was perfect! I was amazed! My family was definitely enjoying the meal. Thank you for making me look like a pro. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I had a great result. Preheated to 500...(hint to the one that complained of a smoking oven, a clean oven should prevent this, I learned the hard way lol.) My roast was exactly 5 lbs. 5x5=25 and I added 5 minutes to err to the side of caution. Solid 2 hours later, removed from oven, set aside and lightly covered in foil while I made the "jus" that he also has a recipe for here. The meat was a perfect tender pink throughout and just delicious. The jus took it over the top. This was my first prime rib but it sure won't be my last. I couldn't have asked for a better result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I don't know if it was my oven, my cut, or something else, but other than the outer edges, this thing was tough as nails and lacked flavor. It came out medium rare, but the fat didn't marble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made it twice and came out perfect both times. Follow the Chef's directions and DON'T OPEN THE OVEN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Republic, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Just finished this. What a recipe! Super easy and soooooo flavorful! No herbs de provence so I used thyme and sage in the butter. It can't get any easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Tried this recipe for my Christmas family dinner. It was off the hook. They loved it. Thank you for the help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have now cooked two prime ribs this way. They were different weights, but both came out absolutely perfect. I have an electric range that has a self cleaning feature, so, I cook the meat 5 min. per lb. @ 500F.Then, I turn off the oven, but pull the locking lever on the door (Normally used for self cleaning) and let it sit for 2 hrs. No heat loss, works perfect! By the way, why does the cooking time total 2hrs. and 20 mins. on your example, but you show 6 hrs. and 30 mins. on your total cooking time at the end? It says no need for resting time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danatboise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States