Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Thank's Chef John! I've on two other occasions tried cooking a prime rib and both were failures... expensive ones at that. After watching your video, I figured it was worth a third try and this time it came out "perfect" ! Instructions are easy and I made sure the roast was a room temperature which I think as John stresses several times is the key to success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Love this recipe. But, I need such a big roast that I'm using two in the same oven. Does anyone know if I'm to use the roast time formula for just one of the two (they're both approximately same weight)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I have used this recipe for years and it works perfectly- ONE THING that will cause the meat to be less than medium rare, besides not having the rib at room temperature, is the fan in newer ovens!! I had no issue for many years until I got a new oven in 2012. Many new ovens have a fan that comes on when you turn the oven off. It quickly lowers the temp, which, obviously, will not work for this recipe. Since I have a built-in oven, I actually shut off the breaker to the oven so the fan doesn't come on. Otherwise you can just unplug it. I guarantee that was the problem with folks who had theirs come out rare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Super easy and just a perfect roast every time. Thank you Chef John keep the video coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
My husband said he loved his prime rib. He likes it more rare. The inside is bright pink/red. The outside is done to my liking. I used exact method he said except I didn't salt because the salt will pull the juices out of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This was fantastic..........follow the recipe to a "T" And the Beef Au Jus. I don't eat meat......but the 5 I fed complimented me all night! Its a mathematical Keeper!!! Thank You Chef John!! Any other secrets you'd care to share?? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I did a 6.6 lbs Prime Rib and let me tell you how awesome it was. When I cut the bones off it it was flowing with juices. I carved the ends off and revealed a beautiful med rare Prime Rib. I wanted to test this method before I do our Christmas Prime Rib. I now know that I am safe making it for my family. Thanks John! And making your oven hold heat is easy: cover the vent with foil or tape after you turn the heat off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scrumdiddly
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
IT WAS PERFECT!!!! The 8.32 prime rib I got for Thanksgiving this year was crazy expensive, so I HAD to get it right. Chef John's equation worked perfectly. Thanks for making me love math, Chef John! We ate that thing for four days. Four heavenly days. Oh, I only had fresh thyme, not the fancy French herbs. Made a compound butter with it and it worked like a charm. A yummy, yummy, charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrumdiddly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Unreal. Spot on fool-proof method to make the best meal you'll ever eat. After I rubbed down the roast with the herbs I draped 3 or 4 pieces of bacon over the roast before I put it in the oven. Follow cooking times shown. AMAZING RESULTS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I have ruined more expensive roasts than you can imagine until I found this recipe! My family and friends beg me to serve this! It's easy, and comes out perfectly pink and moist every time. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States