Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly and it didn't taste special at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Positively delicious! I made a 12.5 LB Prime Rib Roast for my husband and sister in law's January birthdays, 2 weeks ago. It came out perfectly. From now on, I will only prepare/roast a Prime Rib via Chef John's full proof method. Definitely need a pristine oven in which to roast the meat at 500 degrees, as it does get smokey in the kitchen. The smoke readily dissipates once the oven is turned off for the Prime Rib to finish roasting for the remaining 2 hours. Thank you Chef John. CA in PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This was amazing. I made it exactly per the instructions and it was perfect- and I'm generally not a fan of prime rib! Made it with the beef au jus and both my husband and I loved it. Thanks Chef John!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I have done prime rib the traditional way and always have trouble getting it just right, so I thought I would try chef Johns way, OMG this was so easy, I did the garlic butter with herbs, then exactly like he says and it turned out perfect I had an 11 lb. bone in roast and 12 people and only a couple had to have it done a little more, {cant please all}, very juicy ,pink and tasty thank you chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I always had problems with prime rib.....this came out restaurant quality ......Now I'm trying this recipe with a venison roast. .....My oven has a vent I plugged it with paper towel to help hold heat no changes with recipe Thanks chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Chef John, as always, never disappoints. Used the garlic rub recipe on this site as the rub but I used this cooking method. Will forever cook my prime rib roasts this way.... INCREDIBLE! Thanks again Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Fabulous! The recipe says to plan on 3 hours for it to get to room temperature, but the video says 6 hours. Watching the video was very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I made this with a Ribeye Roast for Christmas dinner using fresh ground Rosemary, Lemon Thyme, & Garlic with a sprinkling of Tenderizer over the meat first with my seasonings mixed into the butter. I cooked it per Chef John's instructions @ my sister's house in her less than accurate oven & it still turned out absolutely AMAZING! There were some corners that looked charred beyond recognition & even those pieces were juicy tender bites of pure Christmas Heaven! My husband now wants all roasts cooked this way & I'm not going to argue with him. This was by far the best beef we have ever had & it was fork tender. It was also a 8 lb roast for 8 people. It was wiped out as everyone wanted 2 nds & we were all nibbling on it even before fixing our dinner plates. We have eaten at some VERY EXPENSIVE steak houses in our day & this as said is the best beef we have had in our lives. Although I'm going to use my portable oven thermostat if I cook it at my sister's ever again (just cause that's how I roll!). Will be making many more of this man's recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
It was beautiful. I had no idea we could make a perfect restaurant quality prime rib at home. We made this on Thanksgiving and it turned out better than I could have imagined. It was so easy too. I was a little wary of leaving the meat on the counter for 6 hours, but it turned out great and was safe to do. Chef John perfected this recipe, even down to the minute. The video is great for reference. We've made it again with the same results. It's going to be a favorite now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Thank You Chef John, I' m so impressed! I made a Standing Rib Roast (4 bone - small end) according to your recipe for Christmas Eve and my Husband is still raving about it! When we sliced the roast my guests ooh'd and ahh'd then proceeded to devour it and raved about how tender and juicy it was. I was a little aprehensive not only about cooking the roast for the such a short period of time (7.59 lb. roast - 38 minutes @ 500 degrees) then turning the oven off, but by also leaving the roast at room temperature for 6 hrs prior to cooking. (A must!!) I cooked the roast according to the recipe and the roast came out a perfect medium rare. I did use a digital thermometer (just to be on the safe side) and I watched as the internal temperature started to rise and after two hours the temperature was a perfect 134 degrees! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this recipe to anyone. Honestly, you won't be disappointed....perfect with Chef John's Au Jus recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States