Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Excellant! This will always be our Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I used this method last year and it was perfection! I had 2 roasts and 2 ovens. I did my own seasoning. I will be making it again for Christmas dinner this year. I can't wait! Especially the peoples faces when they first taste it. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri DiLibero

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I did 2.6 small one and it was perfect. I'm going to a try a 6.5 for the holiday's. Anyone have advice for that size. 500x33-35 minutes or so. Then off and wait it out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Loved this recipe. 17lb Prime Rib came out perfect with the appropriate adjustments (for size). Made it last year and again this year. Going to add fresh minced garlic to butter mixture. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I was always hesitant to try a rib roast for fear of ruining a beautiful cut of meat. I found this method and I've successfully made three roasts that have turned out perfectly every time. My husband requested I make another roast for Christmas dinner this year and I'm confident that I will add to the number of successful roasts again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Teel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
great taste and easy to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tom rousselle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
My husband and I did a trial run before Christmas as we've never done this before. We used a 2.28lb cut and followed the formula accordingly. I was iffy about it, but now I want to roast everything this way!! I read somewhere to leave it in the refrigerator uncovered overnight gives it a better "crust", and that's what we did, but then added nothing but salt and pepper before roasting. My father in law is a chef at a steakhouse, and I'm pretty confident he's going to love it. 10 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danyel Rhoads

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Thank's Chef John! I've on two other occasions tried cooking a prime rib and both were failures... expensive ones at that. After watching your video, I figured it was worth a third try and this time it came out "perfect" ! Instructions are easy and I made sure the roast was a room temperature which I think as John stresses several times is the key to success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Love this recipe. But, I need such a big roast that I'm using two in the same oven. Does anyone know if I'm to use the roast time formula for just one of the two (they're both approximately same weight)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I have used this recipe for years and it works perfectly- ONE THING that will cause the meat to be less than medium rare, besides not having the rib at room temperature, is the fan in newer ovens!! I had no issue for many years until I got a new oven in 2012. Many new ovens have a fan that comes on when you turn the oven off. It quickly lowers the temp, which, obviously, will not work for this recipe. Since I have a built-in oven, I actually shut off the breaker to the oven so the fan doesn't come on. Otherwise you can just unplug it. I guarantee that was the problem with folks who had theirs come out rare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States