Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
It was awesome! I was skeptical, but it worked just like chef said. It was a little cool in the middle, but just a hair, and to be honest, it was my fault. Make sure the meat is fully room temp, mine was pretty cool still, and then I let it sit for 15 min after coming out of oven. Bottom line it really worked and I am so happy I can finally cook red-meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patience

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This cooking method works perfectly!! I used my own seasonings, so I'm not sure on that part, but my advice is to try this cooking method. It is very scary the first time, but mine turned out PERFECT! I won't ever use another cooking method for our prime rib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
PERFECT!!! Need I say more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wolfsbane168

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond Hill, New York, USA
Living In: Pine Bush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
For some reason I've never been brave enough to try cooking a prime rib for Christmas dinner. After reading your recipe and the comments, I purchased a 7 lb roast and, after turning off the smoke alarms (thanks for the hint Denise), cooked it just as directed, adding a bit of time due to the size of the roast. No surprise-it turned out perfect! I couldn't believe the amount of meat my teenaged grandsons, father & husband ate...you'd think they'd never eaten before! The ladies ate far less, but it was loved by all! I served it with asparagus and twice-baked potatoes. The easiest dinner to cook for a holiday ever! Don't forget to reset the smoke alarms! THANKS Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
It was really good, but after sitting in the oven for 2 hours, the meat was only luke warm, not much fun to eat. Anyone have suggestions for a way around this? I think I'll play around with it. Next time I'll try leaving the oven on for an extra 5 minutes, but still starting the 2 hour countdown, instead of turning the over off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Chef John You are SO AWESOME! I love you! every recipe of yours I make never disappoints me. This one at the moment is my all time FAVORITE recipe! You win, best chef in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Best prime rib ever. The guy who's oven started to smoke my want to clean his oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Absolutely fabulous! I altered nothing in this recipe and the prime rib was incredible! Will definitely use this recipe again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashandrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Mine came out perfect! I will never be afraid to spend the money on a prime rib again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VikkiTryingToCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Do over for sure. Very simple and very impressive meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States