Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I followed the recipe to a "T" and it was great. Has anyone tried cooking a 10LB prime rib this way? just not sure it will have the same results?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I made PERFECT Prime Rib using this cooking method the very first time I ever cooked a prime rib roast. It's all about the timetable and making sure your roast is at room temperature before cooking. We seasoned it differently so you can do it as you like, just follow the cooking instructions and you'll never have a dried out roast again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Perfect cooking method, I was skeptical, but it did in fact make a perfect medium rare on a nearly 4 lb rib roast. I didn't use the herbs de provence, instead I seasoned with both a kosher salt rub and then a generous sprinkling of Montreal steak seasoning and it turned out FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This is my go-to method for prime rib! I have a son with Asperger's who is very, very particular about what he will and won't eat, and he absolutely LOVES prime rib. The only thing I do different is I use 2tsp crushed garlic rather than herbes de Provence. I mix the garlic with butter and kosher salt, and spread over the roast before cooking. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is the ONLY way that I will cook prime rib now. So simple and turns out perfect, just make absolutely sure that the meat is room temp before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Perfect formula! I like mine with garlic, so instead of the herbs i mix in freshly minced garlic. I have made this several times with different size roasts and it works perfectly no matter how large or small. I do recommend being sure your oven is free of any spills prior to making it. It can get smoky in the kitchen, but a small price to pay for the perfect roast. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Haselton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly and it didn't taste special at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Positively delicious! I made a 12.5 LB Prime Rib Roast for my husband and sister in law's January birthdays, 2 weeks ago. It came out perfectly. From now on, I will only prepare/roast a Prime Rib via Chef John's full proof method. Definitely need a pristine oven in which to roast the meat at 500 degrees, as it does get smokey in the kitchen. The smoke readily dissipates once the oven is turned off for the Prime Rib to finish roasting for the remaining 2 hours. Thank you Chef John. CA in PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This was amazing. I made it exactly per the instructions and it was perfect- and I'm generally not a fan of prime rib! Made it with the beef au jus and both my husband and I loved it. Thanks Chef John!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I have done prime rib the traditional way and always have trouble getting it just right, so I thought I would try chef Johns way, OMG this was so easy, I did the garlic butter with herbs, then exactly like he says and it turned out perfect I had an 11 lb. bone in roast and 12 people and only a couple had to have it done a little more, {cant please all}, very juicy ,pink and tasty thank you chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States