Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
The Best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathyj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I have an older oven so I kept mine in the oven about 10-15 minutes longer than expected and it was perfect. I've made it twice now and it's so delicious. Thanks so much Chef John fir another Fabulous recipe!!! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Best prime rib we ever had! Didn't change a thing. I love Chef Johns recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I have made prime rib at home for years and impressed many of guests but it never is as perfectly cooked like this. It is foolproof!! It's beautiful. Totally amazing served with Chef John's (also seemingly foolproof) Au Jus. With all that being said and we can say it again this method of cooking is amazing......I prefer my own spices and will use them from now on but will always always always prepare it this way with homemade Au Jus. Thank you Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
My husband and I were skeptical but it turned out PERFECT! This is also my first time cooking Prime Rib. We both were amazed how easy and how it was cooked to perfection. I have tried a taste of my husbands Prime Rib while out dining and never cared for the taste. I really do not care for beef roasts but this one surprised me! The only suggestion I have is that we would have placed the the meat on a warmed plated covered with foil, after it was done, while we made the Au Jus which was also very good. I had to put a piece of blue painters tape across the oven door to remind my husband not to open the oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bovey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
We have used this recipe several times and our prime ribs have turned out perfectly! Notice the cook's note at the end of the recipe to figure out the exact cooking time for your size of prime rib. We have cooked several different sizes of prime rib using Chef John's method of calculating the cooking times, and each were cooked to perfection. Thank you for such an easy, perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Park, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This recipe was amazing and so easy. My first time making it and I was a little scared; did not want to mess up such an expensive piece of meat. However, you cannot go wrong with this one. Made a horseradish sauce to eat with it, yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
It doesn't get better than this! Made this for Easter dinner for six, and everyone LOVED it. Every slice had a perfect, tender, pink center, and the brown meat around the edges was amazingly tender and tasty. Melt-in-your mouth good! I didn't change a thing. My roast was 6 lbs, and I cooked for the exact time calculated per Chef John's instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Best recipe ever! I have used this for both a 4.0lb and a 7.2lb roast and each came out PERFECTLY. You can never have enough butter and seasoning on it. Also, if you think you have put enough salt on it, put more. Most of it falls off during the cooking. I also add 2 minutes to the initial time because of loss of heat when opening the door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This recipe works perfectly every time. I cook it in our basement suite oven which is quite old, but the formula is right on. If I had only one oven though, it would be such an inconvenience to tie it up for hours on end. That's my only peeve with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States