Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This is a fool proof method for making the best medium rare prime rib. Your seasonings can be changed according to your preference, but what's listed works perfectly. It's the cooking method that is the key. It cannot be stressed enough, the roast MUST be at room temperature in order for this to work. If it is the least bit cold in the middle of the roast, you will come out with a very rare roast. A mistake I only made once because I was worried about leaving it out to get warm. Don't worry! It will be fine! I usually purchase 4.5 to 5 lb roasts and take it out of the fridge for a minimum of 5 hours to be sure it is room temp. It comes out absolutely PERFECT and juicy every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Prime rib was perfect, juicy and perfectly pink. Followed the recipe exactly with a 4 lb prime rib. Loved it! Love the video to really get a good sense of how to apply the butter and herbs. I'll be trying more of your recipes in the near future for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Absolutely, the easiest way to make perfect prime rib every time. But do not be tempted to open up the oven door until time is up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia52

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Dover, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This recipe has totaly become a staple in our household and has a place on our Christmas table. I do have to admit, I was terrified the first time I cooked it. But as long as you follow his instruction to a t, yours will come out perfect like mine did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEWENCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I was really skeptical - I'm a thermometer checker with my meats and keeping the oven off for two hours with the door closed about killed me! I had a 7 pound prime rib roast and with the exception of the seasoning (I make my own), I followed the recipe exactly as written - roasting at 500 degrees for 35 minutes and then oven off for 2 hours. Turned out perfect. My husband was beyond impressed. I also made Chef John's Beef Au Jus. A meal my entire family loved. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNICKSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durand, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WofTjon
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I was extremely terrified and stressed while preparing and making this recipe, its not cheap and my fiance was extremely excited when he seen that I had purchased it! It came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WofTjon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
It was fantastic! I have to say I was nervous with such an expensive piece of meat but it couldn't have come out any better. Impressed everyone. Did your Beef Au Jus also. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bananass

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My family celebrated Thanksgiving with my wife's sister, while I shivered and shook with with some kind of crud. On Friday I followed the recipe and technique and was able to present a very good prime rib for the family. Our oven is a good gas unit and the meet was a bit undercooked for all but me. The next time I will increase the minutes at 500 degrees and make some changes in the seasoning. Tonight the leftover roast is simmering in the stock pot with potatoes, carrots, mushrooms and onions for a great beef stew for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prischap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Imperial, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I wish there was an ability to give 10 stars! Chef John, I followed your directions... (except I was all out of Kosher salt so I only used sea salt, dang it)...and I got rave reviews. Due to having big eaters and more people than normal, I made an 11.13 pound rib roast and the directions worked for that big of an item. I couldn't believe it. Thank you so much. I have deleted the other prime/rib roast from my recipe box and now only have yours. Words cannot express my gratitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
best prime rib we have ever tried. We have made many recipes and this one always turns out amazing. the secret behind this roast is NOT OPENING the oven door and calculating the proper cooking time/pound
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaclyns

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States