Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My oven probably isn't insulated enough. My roast was definitely at room temp, so that wasn't the problem. The meat was a little on the rare side. But the worst part it was room temperature when served! The butter burned in the oven and created, as others have said, a great deal of smoke. I will not use this recipe again. But I realize that maybe with a better oven and warmer kitchen the outcome would probably have been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is the 4th prime rib I have cooked and I have to say, this method is by far the easiest and best. It was perfectly medium rare with an awesome crust. The only change I made was to season the meat the night before with sea salt, cracked black pepper and garlic powder. I then rubbed it with butter and added more kosher salt and pepper since I really like the outer crust. Like everyone says, the key is to make sure you bring it to room temperature before you cook it. I do have to admit, I was nervous about cutting into it after letting it rest, worried it was going to be too rare...my husband likes his a bit more medium than rare so I gave him the end piece. He told me (jokingly) that if I made it any other way, he was going to give me a black eye! I think it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was SO EASY and SO DELICIOUS!! This is absolutely the easiest best prime rib I have ever had! It is completely idiot proof... If you follow the directions. Thank you for posting this as my family had a spectacular Christmas dinner because of it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made this recipe for tonight's Christmas dinner. Followed it exactly. Went to take it out of the oven and it's still completely raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Worked like a charm as written with an 8 pound roast. The crust was just heavenly; everyone was cutting little bits of the crunchy crust to have with each bite. I used a thermometer to guarantee a medium rare roast because who wants to guess with a $100 roast? I used the Beef Au Jus recipe, also from Chef John and everyone loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was the first time I have cooked a prime rib and I followed this recipe exactly as it said. It was perfect. Everyone loved it. I will always use this recipe in the future when cooking prime rib. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I'm not sure what went wrong but I used my remote thermometer to keep an eye on the prime rib. It reached temperature in less than half the time this recipe called for. If I would have let it stay in the oven for the time the recipe called for, I would have eaten a very well done roast with the tenderness of a shoe. Next time I cook prime rib, I'll go back to the way I used to cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
If it is possible to give 6 stars then you got it Chef John. My husband was very skeptical about turning off the oven and leaving it sit for 2 hrs but once he bit into the first piece he was sold. Thank you very much and Merry Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
well, i was a big skeptic....i am now a convert. i don't make this often, but i will make it like this from now on. no stressing over how high to put the oven at what time....came out perfect. and i mean perfect. thanks chef john for the perfect formula!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this recipe last night for our Christmas Eve dinner. I must say that I was extremely nervous because I prepared a 14.7 pound 5 rib roast! Even though the recipe claims that the "math" is the trick, I was concerned that putting my roast in for 74 minutes at 500 was going to burn the outside. Well, just to let you all know, it was perfect! I was amazed! My family was definitely enjoying the meal. Thank you for making me look like a pro. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States