Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Wow, I agree with the other reviews. This roast was beyond belief. We cannot have dairy, so we did the garlic slices in pockets, slathered with spicy mustard and then salt/peppered all over. For the au jus, we used ALL of the drippings, lol, and the au jus was so yummy. It really helped to warm up the beef, but some of it also ended up on the mashed potatoes! Best au jus ever. Thank you for posting. I've only made prime rib about 15 times, and this was the first time we utterly loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very easy and came out perfect Med rare! Thanks for the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made this for Christmas and my Family thought it was the best prime rib I've ever served. As directed, I marinated overnight and removed from the fridge a good 6 hours prior to roasting. As promised the internal temperature rose to a perfect 145 degrees after searing at 500 degrees for 35 minutes, turning the oven off and letting the roast cook on it's own for another 2 hours. I removed from the oven, covered the finished roast w/foil and it sat for another 45 minutes before we actually ate, but it was still plenty warm. This has become my new "go to" method and recipe for a rib roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I would truly love to give this the 5 Star Rating I was expecting to give when placing my two 8# roasts in the oven on Christmas Day. Unfortunately after the 2 hours we pretty much had raw beef on our plates. The flavor was great (I knew enough not to attempt butter at such a high temp for that long) and there was plenty of salt/seasoning adhering to the roasts so that wasn't a concern. The Au Jus turned out too salty ~ I wish I'd thought to use some wine to mellow it out before serving although noone other than myself seemed to think it was salty. I can only conclude that the meat must have NOT been as room temperature as I thought it was after hours of sitting out. I will make it a point of trying this method again with another rib roast and plug in a remote reader digital thermometer to watch the interior temp during that 2 hours. Good excuse for making another roast for my birthday, right? In our house, we choose our special dinner entree (or restaurant...) hee...hee.... I'd love to be able to revise this rating with a 5. I'm giving it a 4 only because I'm assuming it was something I did that kept it so rare. Chef John, if you have any comments about roasting 2 separate same weight cuts of roast at the same time, please let me know. There was enough separation between them to allow for heat circulation ~ I'm just stumped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I love a good restaurant prime rib. I could never figure out how they did it until now. I have used this method twice now and both turned out so good, none was left. I made a 5lb prime rib the first time and then 11lbs the next. The formula works great. I was a little skeptical about doing the 11lb roast with this formula but did it anyway. I was thrilled with the results. Thanks Chef John....I don't need to go out anymore to get awesome prime rib. My wife, children and even the in-laws loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric
Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Awesome recipe! We made this for Christmas last Saturday. We followed the recipe exactly for a 6lb prime rib. So, 30 min at 500, turned off the oven and didn't peek for 2 hours. It was cooked to a perfect medium rare and had a delicious, rich crust from the fat and butter and herbs. It did get very smokey in our kitchen and it was kind of alarming at first with the smoke and the sizzle of the melting butter, but we just took down the smoke detector and trusted the recipe. The meat was juicy, tender, flavorful, and just perfect. Frankly, it was better than the last time we had prime rib at a steakhouse in town. My husband's only quibble was that the prime rib was a bit cool, but then, we did have to let it sit for 30-40 min while we waited for the green bean casserole to finish cooking, so that could be our fault for not eating right away. Served with extra-hot horseradish, Chef John's au jus, Mrs. Gerry's mashed potatoes, my mom's green bean casserole, and french bread. Oh, and last night we used the leftover prime rib to make beef stew. ^_^ It felt horribly decadent to use such good meat in stew, but we needed a change and it turned out amazing, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I tried this on a dry aged rib roast prepared as shown on ATK for 5 or 6 days. Without trimming I left the roast out for about 8 hours. I put on the rub, preheated the oven to 500 for a couple of hours and then used the 5 minutes times my 3.7 pound roast after aging. It had lost nearly .5 pounds. After 17 minutes in the 500 oven I turned off the oven. In less than an hour, 56 minutes, in fact the probe thermometer went past 117 degrees. I was baffled. While decision making, it passed 125 when I pulled it from the oven and wrapped in aluminum foil after pouring of the drippings which I intended to use for roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding a la Anne Willen. The temp continued to climb until it reached 144 or so and I knew my dream of rare roast beef was gone. What could I do. Just waited. It quit climbing soon after and was about 125 when the potatoes and Yorkshire pudding were done. Both were fantastic and I made a red wine sauce with what was left of the fond and fat. I cut off the bones and sliced. It wasn't dark brown but there was only a hint of medium in the middle slices. The edges were tough but the rest was pretty tender and the fat was tasty but still not the roast of my dreams. I have made rib roast many times using varied techniques such as all the way at 250 and a blast at the end and a 350 with a digital insert and this was the most disappointing. Maybe I messed up the science with the dry aging or let the oven cure too long???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Was a bit skeptical because our Kitchenaid electric oven has a cooling fan which turns on when the oven is turned off. So I had a back up plan just in case, BUT I didn't need it. I followed the recipe exactly, brought the roast to room temp, seasoned the beef, did the math and in it went. Came out PERFECT, even with the cooling fan that can't be turned off. Will be my prime rib recipe moving forward. Tasty, tender and fool-proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwalker5

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
The easiest and most flavorful prime rib that I have ever eaten or prepared! As a previous reviewer stated, it is important that the roast be at room temperature prior to roasting and no peeking during the final 2 hours. I can't say enough good about this recipe. If you follow Chef John's recipe, you will never need a meat thermometer for prime rib again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States