Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Love Chef John! Thanks for the wonderful explanations in your videos, they are so helpful. These turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I 'inherited' the retro potato masher from the '60's, but had never used it. Always used the mixer to whip my potatoes--same ingredients. WOW!!! What a difference this process makes in the end result! The potatoes cooked much better cut lengthwise; the water I drained off was still clear, not starchy. The potatoes mashed perfectly, creamy not sticky. Will never use my mixer again to make mashed potatoes! I do recommend you microwave the milk slightly to warm it so the potatoes don't cool down as quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Best mashed potatoes I have ever made. The video was helpful. The only change I made was using nonfat milk, but I added a dollop of sour cream. They were a hit. Perfect consistency and taste! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Chef John's recipes are always tops. I agree on using Russet potatoes! The only thing I do differently is cut the potatoes in chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fancy Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Photo by lancelynx
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
The search is over! THE BEST! mashed potatoes ever! My kids & hubby loves it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lancelynx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
These were terrific...and I quadrupled the recipe. I've never had a tried and true recipe for mashed potatoes, and did quite a bit of research for thanksgiving dinner. Chef John's recipes never fail. Especially helpful in his video were the hints for cutting the potatoes and proper mashing techniques. Will absolutely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Perfect tators!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Finally! I can make mashed potatoes that everyone raves about! It was great to not bring out or clean up a mixer. I needed to watch the video also, as the technique shown make a big difference. I also warmed my milk (used part 1% and part half and half). Loved the white pepper in there. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was a good recipe, not sure they were perfect potatoes but they were certainly tasty. I will make again as it was simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I substituted buttermilk since I had no whole milk on hand. Also boiled the potatoes with skin on because the family likes the skin. Dee-licious, fluffy potatoes!! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States