Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Just made these and this is how I'll be making mashed potatoes from now on...they were very light and fluffy, not a lump to be seen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Mezzetti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Very bland, I had to add a ton of salt and pepper, which I don't usually do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I love this easy recipe. I used 1/2 cup of canned milk instead of whole milk and WOW. my potatoes came out much creamier and a fantastic taste. So my suggestion is instead of whole milk, try can milk (evaporated milk). U will be amazed at the difference it makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe with outstanding results. Light, creamy clouds of deliciousness. Many thanks to Chef John for sharing his techniques and humorous videos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schipperke Trainer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I've been known for my mashed potatoes as well but this recipe solves several logistical problems i.e. Cutting the chunks to equal size, not over beating. I'm impressed. I was skeptical but when he started the video recommending russets, I decided to give it a listen. Glad I did. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is the absolute best way to make the PERFECT mashed potatoes. I did a test of this recipe before the first thanksgiving I have hosted for my family. I found that using white pepper was a MUST. The only modification I made was that I put 2 cloves of garlic in the water while the potatoes boiled. Thank you chef john!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
For a really creamy experience use frothed milk from your coffee machine - we use latte style milk from our Nespresso which results in velvety smooth mash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Knorr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
wouhou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is exactly how I make mine, including the drying after draining and the dry mash, followed by butter mash, followed by milk! But I'm anxious to try just cutting the potatoes in half length-wise. Thanks Chef John...you always give me something new to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I thought these were a good basic mashed potato. I had a bag of potatoes that had 5 russets in it. So, I did 50% more milk. However, I just kept the butter the same. I am glad I did, because it seemed like quite a bit a more butter, even, than I normally would use when adding it. They were still plenty buttery. I boiled my potatoes in a large wide 3" pot with a lid. I have never just cut a potato in half once and boiled. I actually think I like that method better. The potato really held together. Be careful when draining. I normally use a strainer and doing the from pot method I nearly gave myself steam burns on my hands and a free steam facial. I am not sure I recommend that method of draining. After reheating the potatoes to dry them some as suggested I had to do the mashing process in a large bowl. I unfortunately do not have a coated masher and did not want my non-stick pot getting scratched up. This recipe, overall, is a good guide for someone trying to learn to make a simple mashed potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States