Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Easy to follow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minhee Choi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Wow! I have always had mixed luck making mashed potatoes. I have used this recipe twice now with winning results both times! Last night I dared to make them for a small dinner party and got several compliments! Hoo- rah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
PERFECTO! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is THE ONLY way to make mashed potatoes as far as I'm concerned! I've been making them for close to 15 years now and they were always good but then I found this and now they are amazing. Best advice is to watch the video. I don't know how or why any of those steps changed the outcome and I don't care because all I can say is that it does elevate your potatoes! This year I made them for my new fiance's family for Thanksgiving and kept getting asked for my recipe. Also my soon to be mother in law said that they were they best mashed potatoes she's ever had. That is saying a lot!! Only thing I do different is use garlic salt instead of regular salt, but we love garlic. And sometimes I use half heavy cream and half milk for extra richness. I also was asked to make "my potatoes" for a church gathering recently. I varied the servings and did it with 15 lbs of potatoes and it was still perfect! Watch the video and give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I love mashed potatoes but never get them the same twice in a row. Well, I didn't, but now I do. I think the key is to make sure there is no moisture left. I never did that before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hrdwrkdmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clendenin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Amazing! Thank you for the great tips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Easy, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
NO SUBSTITUTIONS. Chef John really knows what he's doing! Careful, but easy-to-follow technique is finally leading me away from my dependency on flaked instant mash. Best I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This a great recipe that my mother used only advise i would give is to warm the milk and have butter at room temp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
A homerun! The video tips were outstanding. This is basically my Mom's usual Thanksgiving recipe that I've used for years but understanding the techniques helped me realize why some years our potatoes were amazing and other years a little lumpy and average. We've followed this 3 times now (including with Yukon Golds instead of russets) and each time delicious mashed potatoes and lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States