Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
My go-to mash recipe! I follow the recipe exactly and they come out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Thanks Chef John! My family now loves my mashed tomatoes. The salted water at lover temps is the key. Sometimes , I had a couple of Ts of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Thank you for the great tips! The potatoes turned out wonderful, but it was a little salty for us. Next time I think I will leave out or half the salt when boiling the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Yes. Perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
He's right, perfect fluffiness! I used 2% milk and they were fine. A little more butter would be even better, but these were good as is without being too fattening for a regular meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Made these for Thanksgiving, I followed the proportions exactly however I used half and half and butter...used the Russet potatoes, forgot to mash them before the addition of milk and butter, but they came out great! Best mashed I have ever made...first time I used a recipe too, go figure ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
cooked this recipe for both Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners. Outstanding results both meals by following the recipe verbatim. even my mother and mother-in-law who has made mashed potatoes for years were highly enthusiastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I loved the simplicity of this recipe. This was smooth and yummy! My kids loved these mashed potatoes! I also like that Chef John uses milk instead of cream in this recipe. I made a beef stew and served it over these mashed potatoes....heavenly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Thank you Chef John! These taste just like my Momma's. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Perfect mashed potatoes is right! I think the key to this recipe may be in using the potato masher instead of an electric mixer. I went out and bought a potato masher specifically for this recipe and it made a huge difference from my past experience when I used the electric mixer. The potatoes were so creamy. I made these the day before Thanksgiving and then put them in a crockpot on low the day of Thanksgiving (I was trying to do as much as I could ahead of time) these potatoes came out excellent! Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States