Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Just needs some more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
The ideal recipe for classic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by JsS
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
OMG this was good no more potatoe flakes for me! Very easy very good and YES the white pepper is better! Follow the exact up and down smash motion it does make a difference I made 2 batches and he's right DO NOT OVER SMASH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Superb recipe. Doesn't need any changes, you just need to follow his instructions. I found it to be very flavorful and the perfect texture. Kudos to Chef John once again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
PERFECT! Boiling in salted water, slicing the potatoes in half length-wise only, and returning the pot to the stove just after draining the water to dry the potatoes before mashing were all new, essential tips. Turned out amazing, impressed all of my Thanksgiving guests. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danetter22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
best ever! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Hey, I just made perfect mashed potatoes! ;-) I have been making mashed potatoes for years with mixed results. I followed Chef John's directions and recipe exactly as demonstrated/written and I finally know how to make proper mashed potatoes. I really appreciate the tip about cutting the potatoes lengthwise. It did make a difference. Also, in my past attempts, I think I tended to over-mash them. His technique and timing was right on. Thank you Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
If you add cream cheese to these mashed potatoes you will want to save them all for your self. You might gain 50 lbs. but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
These turned out perfect with very little effort. The video was helpful, I found I had previously been doing a few things wrong. I only had skim milk but it still turned out pretty good (I'm sure whole milk would be better though). I also add about 4 ounces (half a tub) of chive and onion cream cheese to make it a little creamier and add flavor. My picky husband loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
My family loves this recipe. I used to cut potatoes in little chunks. I wished I found this recipe years ago and saved a lot of prep time. Thanks much Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States