Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Family love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
The ingredients are simple and good, the method is laborious. I suggest investing in a potato ricer. Fast, easy, consistently perfect mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Best mashed potatoes I have ever made. My 11 year old daughter agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
thank you thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
These were so much less time consuming than every other recipe I've tried! I just threw the potatoes, butter, milk, salt & pepper in my Kitchen-Aid mixer and started on low and then sped it up to whipped texture. So good! And so easy! My toddler will eat anything if surrounded my mashed potatoes. This is a game changer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiara Tony
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Fast, simple, tasty. I used Yukon gold potatoes and use the masher in stead of the whisk. Mashed potatoes have a few lumps by not using thevwhisk but I like my potatoes this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
While they were still hot I briefly used the stir setting of my blender instead of a potato masher. Mine were not as chunky, they were more of a smooth texture similar to instant but we loved every bite and after it sat for a bit to come back for evening seconds was even better than when they were fresh. When I get a masher I will try it the proper way but as far as I am concerned they were perfect in every way. As good as what granny used to make if not better. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melicious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Ok. I was skeptical, but I needed some "leftover" mashed potatoes for another recipe, and I had the russets (I usually use red-skin-on for my mash), so I figured I'd try this recipe. I had to watch the video to believe that you only have to cut each potato in half, but I followed the directions and ingredient amounts (except I used 2% milk, cause that's all I had). All went well, until I added the milk, and the potatoes turned soupy, and I thought "oh, NO!". This is the first time I've ever followed amounts for the butter and milk, so I just figured it was too late, so I might as well keep stirring. Well, didn't they just tighten up to the perfect consistency! I was amazed (and relieved). Mine are not completely lump-free because I was mashing in a non-stick pan (the only kind I own), so I could have mashed more vigorously, but they are probably the best "plain" mashed potatoes I've ever made. My mom always used a motorized hand mixer for mashing her potatoes, so for all I know, I grew up eating gluey potatoes. No more for me and mine. Thanks, Chef John. You made me a believer. 4/4/15 UPDATE I just made these using four Yukon golds, and they came out great with a slightly shorter cooking time (15-17 minutes). I omitted the pepper because I'm using the mash in a roll recipe, and I did an extra couple of turns with a regular dinner fork to take out the lumps (I'm still using non-stick, so I have to be careful not to scratch the finish). Thanks for the forgiving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This recipe is all about technique. It takes you back to the basics. Great food education. Thank You Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I've made this recipe - as is - a few times now and it is my "go to" for mashed potatoes. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States