Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
These turned out perfect with very little effort. The video was helpful, I found I had previously been doing a few things wrong. I only had skim milk but it still turned out pretty good (I'm sure whole milk would be better though). I also add about 4 ounces (half a tub) of chive and onion cream cheese to make it a little creamier and add flavor. My picky husband loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
My family loves this recipe. I used to cut potatoes in little chunks. I wished I found this recipe years ago and saved a lot of prep time. Thanks much Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Good, could have benefited from some additional ingredients if you want the potatoes to be more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Flavor was ok. Was using hot turkey commercial sandwiches so didn't want to go crazy with too many flavor a. What I loved was the video instructing on the mashing. For years I used electric mixer. NEVER AGAIN! Turned out perfect. Can't wait to make again and flavor them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ixdaxbabi3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Everyone seems to be able to make mashed potatoes... but not me. I know I never added this much butter & milk. Maybe I over or under cooked the potatoes before? I'm not sure how else I could goof up something so simple. I followed this & they turned out great. Thanks for the help Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
We could probably make an advertisement with this recipe. 'Nothing gets between me and my mashed potatoes.' Keep it simple and let the mashed potato strut its stuff. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
GREAT RECIPTE FOR LIGHT FLUFFY MASH POTATOES. I ADD A DASH OF CAYENNE PEPPER, FRESH ROSEMERRY AND GARLIC PASTE. YOU CAN DRESS IT UP TO YOUR TAST BUT A PERFECT MASH POTATOE.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Oh, Chef John. You are simply the best. Hands down. This is the perfect recipe for mashed potatoes. I use it every time I make them. Flawless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy B
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written and they were indeed "perfect"! Thanks Chef John for the video, loved it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States