Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Learned something new with Chef John's technique of mashing potatoes! Potatoes were absolutely perfect. I might experiment next time by adding other ingredients, but this recipe was just right for a no frills, delicious mashed potato side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I abhorred mash potatoes as a kid but my family loves them.i usually by the box but my daughter ask for real Mashed potatoes..so i found this great recipes and they. ..as well as I(shocked face)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I tripled this recipe for our Thanksgiving dinner. The potatoes came out PERFECT. My husband was dubious that they would turn out without using our mixer to mash up the potatoes. However, I followed Chef John's instructions exactly and we were not disappointed! This will be our go-to recipe for mashed potatoes forevermore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Mashed potatoes were the one thing that I stopped bothering to make from scratch because they were always inconsistent, dense, dry, etc. But OMG! These are in fact better than Bob Evans's refrigerated mashed potatoes. Amazing! My tweaks: Instead of adding salt to the water, I added two packets of Goya's chicken bullion (game changer) and italian seasoning for a bit of color and extra flavor. I didn't have the masher, so I used a large silicone whisk. Perfect! They whipped up in seconds. I stopped eating to write this review. They were that good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I quadrupled this for my family of 8 and followed the directions mostly to a T (instead of whole milk I used half light cream and half 1% milk) and it turned out amazing. So super easy and perfectly fluffy. This made it into my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Doubled the recipe - it turned out very well. Glad I watched the video first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Watch the video and cook these following the recipe exactly. Perfect! AND they stay a perfect texture as leftovers. We heated in microwave three days later and they were not soggy. The best straight-forward mashed potatoes recipe ever. Thank you again, Chef John. You are my go-to recipe submitter on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Love Chef John! Thanks for the wonderful explanations in your videos, they are so helpful. These turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I 'inherited' the retro potato masher from the '60's, but had never used it. Always used the mixer to whip my potatoes--same ingredients. WOW!!! What a difference this process makes in the end result! The potatoes cooked much better cut lengthwise; the water I drained off was still clear, not starchy. The potatoes mashed perfectly, creamy not sticky. Will never use my mixer again to make mashed potatoes! I do recommend you microwave the milk slightly to warm it so the potatoes don't cool down as quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States