Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Classic! This is THE method to use for really good mashed potatoes. It is essential to add salt to the cooking water - oh and start with cool water - bring to temp and then reduce the heat so the water just simmers, not boils. This way the taters cook evenly. Thanks for posting this Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Thank you to Chef John for making the video. I couldn't figure out why I kept getting starchy water until he explained the method of cutting the potatoes lengthwise vs. cutting into cubes. I ran out of whole milk, so I used buttermilk. Plus, to make them extra creamy, I added 3 tbs. of sour cream. By making those adjustments to the recipe, I'll just say that they were such a hit at thanksgiving dinner, all we had to take home was the container I brought them to dinner in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Fluffy, flavorful clouds in my mouth. And so easy. Followed exactly except used 1% milk (was on hand). As for the masher, my sister has our Mother's which he recommends, so I used mine which he doesn't like. Still, the potatoes were wonderful!!! His video shows the techniques very clearly. Find at foodwishes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Have been making MP Chef John's way ever since I saw his video several years ago. Perfect fluffy clouds of potato heaven every time. If you are rice challenged check out his site for perfect rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Thank you Chef John! I got so tired of watery mashed potatoes that I started buying the Bob Evans in the refrigerated area of the grocery. My husband couldn't believe it, I told him I had yet to make any better than Bob. That is until now! I made these last night with some country steak and gravy and they were delicious! I did just as the recipe called except I only had 2% milk so that is what I used. Luckily I already had the right potato masher and not one of those other weird looking objects that Chef John was showing in the video NOT to use! Thanks again, I'm planning on making your mushroom gravy this evening to have with some more mashed potatoes and meatloaf! We can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Just one more great recipe from Chef John. I love this guy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This really is the simplest and tastiest way to make mashed potatoes. I like to use warmed evaporated milk instead of whole milk. This recipe makes the fluffiest potatoes. NOTE: This is also good with a couple cloves of homemade roasted garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
These potatoes come out well (and the instructions make them very easy to make), but they are bland. I learned the hard way that my family expects more to mashed potatoes. If you like good, old fashioned "just potatoes" then this is definitely the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Thanks for posting this video as I needed something simple to follow for my office Thanksgiving Potluck. I waited until about 11pm the night before the potluck, before getting this going, so a lot of the pointers like how to cut them in halves helped out in the process for boiling them. Along with what masher to get which I picked up the same style one Chef John recommended, and the other little pointers given, all a big help in keeping me moving along with the prepping, and cooking, and mashing (at the ridiculous hour I was cooking these!) I made just over 10 lbs so I got done about 1:30am! All around a big thanks for the informative video. Russet Potata!!! I love how he says it. This guy's personality is awesome. "What the hell is that?" ..."Two Laps ...Restrain Yourself" ! Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASU1997

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roselle Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
A video for mashed potatoes? Who needs it!? Well . . . I watched, and turns out *I* needed it! Excellent tips, resulting in creamy, rich, smooth mashed potatoes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaraC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States