Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe for mashed potatoes. It's a simple recipe for fluffy and delicious mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
okay I know you think you know how to make potatoes but um... when you make this and follow exactly you realize you don't. Potatoes are so simple but so easy to mess up. This is how to do them right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
followed recipe exactly as written. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Awesome. Super simple and tasty. This was my first time making mashed potatoes from scratch, so thanks for the video explaining the mashing technique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Chef John thank you for this recipe. And video very helpful. 5stars I make mashed potatoes at least once a week. Always your recipe. Sometimes I add garlic to the water then mash as usual. Follow this recipe you can't go wrong. Watch the video. Helpful hints many people are saying this is bland.. Season your food to your liking. Start small. Taste. Add a little more. I always add more butter. 2% milk or some half and half. Sometimes cheese really good cheese. Whip with a good wire whisk.. Keep warm. Enjoy this recipe. Thanks chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Love this recipe. Watch the video as it'll tell you about technique which is really important. I didn't have the mentioned/preferred masher and mashing twice over was not enough, there were still some clumps. I also had a lot of potatoes so I guess you have to adjust accordingly. That said whipping them really did make them fluffy. I feel that this recipe needs a bit more in terms of flavor. You could make them garlic mashed or with sautéed onions. That's why I gave it 4 stars: a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Good recipe except I add about a Tbsp of Duke's Mayonnaise (it's a southern thing!) and my family LOVES my mashed (we actually call them creamed) potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Add smoked gouda and a bit of garlic and you have 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chez Robe-Air

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endicott, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen May-Francioni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Loved this recipe! Excellent tips. Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States