Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I never realized there was a certain way to make mashed potatoes! They were awesome and my family loved them. I used Kerrygold Irish butter and it just made them so much better. I will never make mashed potatoes from a box again. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Watson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Bland. May add sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
These are Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foobitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Learned something new with Chef John's technique of mashing potatoes! Potatoes were absolutely perfect. I might experiment next time by adding other ingredients, but this recipe was just right for a no frills, delicious mashed potato side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I abhorred mash potatoes as a kid but my family loves them.i usually by the box but my daughter ask for real Mashed potatoes..so i found this great recipes and they. ..as well as I(shocked face)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I tripled this recipe for our Thanksgiving dinner. The potatoes came out PERFECT. My husband was dubious that they would turn out without using our mixer to mash up the potatoes. However, I followed Chef John's instructions exactly and we were not disappointed! This will be our go-to recipe for mashed potatoes forevermore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Mashed potatoes were the one thing that I stopped bothering to make from scratch because they were always inconsistent, dense, dry, etc. But OMG! These are in fact better than Bob Evans's refrigerated mashed potatoes. Amazing! My tweaks: Instead of adding salt to the water, I added two packets of Goya's chicken bullion (game changer) and italian seasoning for a bit of color and extra flavor. I didn't have the masher, so I used a large silicone whisk. Perfect! They whipped up in seconds. I stopped eating to write this review. They were that good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I quadrupled this for my family of 8 and followed the directions mostly to a T (instead of whole milk I used half light cream and half 1% milk) and it turned out amazing. So super easy and perfectly fluffy. This made it into my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Doubled the recipe - it turned out very well. Glad I watched the video first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Watch the video and cook these following the recipe exactly. Perfect! AND they stay a perfect texture as leftovers. We heated in microwave three days later and they were not soggy. The best straight-forward mashed potatoes recipe ever. Thank you again, Chef John. You are my go-to recipe submitter on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States