Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
PERFECTO! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is THE ONLY way to make mashed potatoes as far as I'm concerned! I've been making them for close to 15 years now and they were always good but then I found this and now they are amazing. Best advice is to watch the video. I don't know how or why any of those steps changed the outcome and I don't care because all I can say is that it does elevate your potatoes! This year I made them for my new fiance's family for Thanksgiving and kept getting asked for my recipe. Also my soon to be mother in law said that they were they best mashed potatoes she's ever had. That is saying a lot!! Only thing I do different is use garlic salt instead of regular salt, but we love garlic. And sometimes I use half heavy cream and half milk for extra richness. I also was asked to make "my potatoes" for a church gathering recently. I varied the servings and did it with 15 lbs of potatoes and it was still perfect! Watch the video and give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I love mashed potatoes but never get them the same twice in a row. Well, I didn't, but now I do. I think the key is to make sure there is no moisture left. I never did that before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hrdwrkdmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clendenin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Amazing! Thank you for the great tips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Easy, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
NO SUBSTITUTIONS. Chef John really knows what he's doing! Careful, but easy-to-follow technique is finally leading me away from my dependency on flaked instant mash. Best I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This a great recipe that my mother used only advise i would give is to warm the milk and have butter at room temp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
A homerun! The video tips were outstanding. This is basically my Mom's usual Thanksgiving recipe that I've used for years but understanding the techniques helped me realize why some years our potatoes were amazing and other years a little lumpy and average. We've followed this 3 times now (including with Yukon Golds instead of russets) and each time delicious mashed potatoes and lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I use this recipe every time I make mashed potatoes. The entire family loves it. I purposely make double the amount because they always want leftovers. It's so good. The best home made mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I have been making mashed potatoes for well over 40 years. This is a basic mashed potato recipe for those who do not know how to do it or are unsure of how much butter and milk to add. What makes this perfect is "salt and pepper to taste". If your taste says these are bland, add more. Mashed potatoes, basic mashed potatoes, included these ingredients, nothing more, nothing less. So rate this according to that rather than how YOU make mashed potatoes. Personally, I do not use an electric mixer. I use a masher. For me, with my experience, that makes them most fluffy. For others a mixer works best. I would not rate the recipe on my preference. I would not rate them as "bland" because I failed to "season to taste", either. Nor would I downgrade a recipe rating because I am experienced and prefer evaporated milk to whole milk or cream cheese to whatever. The point of this recipe is not to make the perfect advanced mashed potato recipe but rather to make the basic that experience will allow you to adjust to your taste. Like adding chives, bacon bits, omitting the pepper all together and adding garlic powder and minced onion, which is our favorite. Thanks, Chef John. Your recipes are always spot on for perfect beginnings. Your more advanced recipes are perfect for me, as well. Love your recipes, videos and more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States