Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
My grandmother taught me how to make mashed potatoes, and she learned from her mother, who learned from her mother.. you get the point. My family has always cubed the potatoes, not halved them, but when i tried it your way, they mashed MUCH more evenly and I didn't have those un-catchable little chunks you can never mash. Thanks Chef John, but now I'm afraid for my life! My grandma is going to whoop me for not using her recipe! Recipe was perfect, as is. Didn't tweak or alter a thing. Delicious. And nothing was left over, even though I doubled the recipe. Even my grandma had seconds of the potatoes. But she doesn't know it was her recipe, hahahaha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silverinkedwings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Absolutely delicious mashed potatoes! Followed it exactly with the exception of condensed milk instead or whole milk! Will always make them this way from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I thought I made great potatoes but these are my new favorite. My family loved them and all of us had seconds and were still looking for thirds. The only thing I did differently is used 5 large red potatoes because that's what I had. Also, the recipe doesn't state how much salt to add to the water, so I added 1 Tbsp. Just another 1/2 tsp of salt and 1/4 tsp of pepper at the end and they were perfect. Thanks for the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
SO easy. The perfect mashed potatoes. Making this for the second night in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
The potatoes texture came out great but they were a little bland. It felt as if they were missing something but couldn't figure out what! Other than the bland taste, the potatoes came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I never like mash potatoes I guess thanks to myGrandmother but my boys kept asking for them so I decided to try this recipe it was easy perfect mash potatoes Thanks and I will make mash potatoes again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CamilleAvery101

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Perris, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Just made this and even though I've made mashed in the past I kind of just forgot due to lack of practice. With this quick recipe I was able to make... I do not even eat mashed potatoes... I cook strictly from how they should smell... I only had 2 potatoes, and I accidentally used the same ingredients for milk and butter... butter was okay, but I didn't want runny potatoes... so I had to scoop out some of the extra... luckily I was only feeding 2 people potatoes! :) Thank you John for this perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Easy, very fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I used to quarter the potatoes...this really seemed to make a different in the "light and fluffy" texture of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States