Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Awesome. Super simple and tasty. This was my first time making mashed potatoes from scratch, so thanks for the video explaining the mashing technique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Chef John thank you for this recipe. And video very helpful. 5stars I make mashed potatoes at least once a week. Always your recipe. Sometimes I add garlic to the water then mash as usual. Follow this recipe you can't go wrong. Watch the video. Helpful hints many people are saying this is bland.. Season your food to your liking. Start small. Taste. Add a little more. I always add more butter. 2% milk or some half and half. Sometimes cheese really good cheese. Whip with a good wire whisk.. Keep warm. Enjoy this recipe. Thanks chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Love this recipe. Watch the video as it'll tell you about technique which is really important. I didn't have the mentioned/preferred masher and mashing twice over was not enough, there were still some clumps. I also had a lot of potatoes so I guess you have to adjust accordingly. That said whipping them really did make them fluffy. I feel that this recipe needs a bit more in terms of flavor. You could make them garlic mashed or with sautéed onions. That's why I gave it 4 stars: a little bland. Maybe that's how the classic is supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Good recipe except I add about a Tbsp of Duke's Mayonnaise (it's a southern thing!) and my family LOVES my mashed (we actually call them creamed) potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Add smoked gouda and a bit of garlic and you have 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chez Robe-Air

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endicott, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen May-Francioni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Loved this recipe! Excellent tips. Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
They really are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Thank you Chef John. It is a great recipe. I have tried to make it with my son.It tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This recipe is perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States