Chef John's Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Very simple to make. I used regular white flour, lime zest, peaches from a can and walnuts. One of the reviews said the peaches did not drop to the bottom of the dish because they used the wrong flour. So after I poured the peaches into the mixture I gently pressed them down and scooped up the flour mixture to cover the peaches. In my opinion this was more like a peach bread pudding. Nonethe less it was delicious. In the future I would used less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This recipe was outstanding my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leonard Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was just so wonderful. So nice and sweet and doughy like! Loved it! Thanks, Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Really liked it, but I thought it was too sweet. Great recipe though! I would recommend making it because it's very easy and tasty. I did not have self-rising flour in hand so I used a substitution of using 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/4 tsp of salt for every 1 cup of all-purpose flour. I would make it again next time I crave for some peach cobbler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Amazing! Added a cup of blueberries to the peaches in syrup while I waited for them to cool and the oven to heat. Used the convection at 350F, and it took barely 40 minutes to bake. Tested with a fine skewer to make sure the cake part was cooked. Also cut down the sugar in the batter to 1/2 cup. I divided this between a regular loaf pan and a smaller one. Unfortunately unable to upload photo. Because I had 4 cups of sliced peaches I cut back on the syrup, ie 3/4 cup of sugar and 3/4 cup of water. Will definitely make this again. Going to try a version using rhubarb which I will simmer for a few minutes in the simple syrup. Thank you chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Did not put the Chinese spices in but added some cinnamon. It looked great and tasted great. Would make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This cobbler was so good! I couldn't fid my copy of the recipe and revisited the site to get it again. It's that good that I wasn't going to make peach cobbler without this recipe. I don't know if it's the five spice or what but it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This was a delicious recipe! I did tweek it a bit. In place of the five spice, I used cinnamon and nutmeg, I added vanilla flavor, added 1 1/2 tbs of cornstarch to my canned peaches (used juice from peaches in place of water) and I baked for an hour...results were a juicy dessert with the perfect crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodeecook06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monica
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This was easy to make, delicious and beautifully puffed up. In my oven it was done after about 42min. I had to use canned peaches and pears because that's what I had on hand. The cup of sugar in the batter was a bit too sweet given the sugar in the fruit, so if I use canned fruit again, I'll reduce it to 2/3 cup. The Five-Spice powder was nice but I would have liked a little more spice. Next time I'll add cinnamon and a touch of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Simple recipe and tasty cobbler! I don't have a Dutch oven but a glass dish with no kid works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Chef John's Peach Tartlets

See how to make an impressive but so simple fresh peach dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States