Chef John's Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Simple, easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
We didn't like the Chinese five spice powder flavor. It was just an off taste to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Great flavor, but after an hour and a half on 350 degrees, there was still so much juice and uncooked batter that I had to add an oatmeal/butter/flour topping to help sop it up a bit. Like the 5 spice flavor. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Very simple and easy recipe! Only thing I did different was up the temp to 375 and bake time to 55 minutes! I knew from previous cobbler recipes I had tried that the bake time and temp may be a little off! But the final result was eXcellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Amazing. This was my first time having and making peach cobbler. Both my parents and myself loved it. Thanks John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
there was so much liquid left after it was baked that it over-flowed! either you need to add more flour to the batter or you need to cut back on the syrop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sengel007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I didn't have any Chinese 5 Spice, so I substituted Pumpkin Pie Spice and some ground chipotle. The flavors were fantastic, but there was SO much liquid in the finished product. I'll cut the simple syrup to half a cup next time, which ought to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Made it as written with an additional 1/2 t cinnamon to the peach mixture and the oven at 375 instead of 350. Mine was not runny, however I made sure to boil the peaches for a full 2 minutes at a rolling boil & that thickened them. Good taste, but I prefer a more tart cobbler and would add lemon juice or tart berries next time. The batter on this one traveled throughout & was a bit more like thick custard than the traditional cake-like dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benton City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I use a very similar recipe that I have had for years. We make this awesome cobbler every time we go camping as it is requested by our fellow campers!! Ours is cooked in a dutch oven in a hole in the ground with hot coals. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Too lemony. I can have lemons all year but fresh Ga. peaches only for a short period of time. Perfer to leave off all the spices and enjoy peaches tasting like peaches. It looked beautiful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Chef John's Peach Tartlets

See how to make an impressive but so simple fresh peach dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States