Chef John's Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barneybbarbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is an excellent recipe! To the reviewers who said that they had too much liquid after baking or that the crust never rose to the top, YOU USED THE WRONG TYPE OF FLOUR. This recipe calls for self-rising flour, NOT all-purpose, and there is a difference! I made this as directed, subbing cinnamon for the 5-spice powder (I have simple tastes!) and it turned out wonderfully and was delicious! A little trick for helping it to set better. After the bake time is over, turn the heat off and let the cobbler remain in the oven for a while to cool. This will let any remaining liquid boil off while not burning the dessert. You should eat this warm though, rather than room temp. (Just my opinion!) All in all, this is a great recipe. You can't go wrong with Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I modified this recipe by using blueberries and raspberries instead of peaches. It turned out perfect and very delicious. very simple recipe that I will be making again using a variety of fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Easy and delicious. I used fresh peaches and a tsp. of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. cloves. I didn't have self-rising flour, so just added about 2 tsp. of baking powder and a bit of salt. So good. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I don't like peach cobbler, but I LOVE this recipe! Thanks, an excellent way to serve up those peaches that go a bit past ripe. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I used self rising flour from 2 years ago and did not use any lemon peel, but about a half Tablespoon of lemon juice. I used all of the ingredients asked for, but changed the spice to Pampered Chef Cinnamon Plus spice blend. The flavor is peachy and tasty, but the dough stayed at the bottom and now is a dense piece of dough that is NOT tasty. I was very careful to place the peaches on top and I used about 3/4 of the syrup. Baked for 1 hour 15 minutes at 350 F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3tocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This is my first time making or even trying peach cobbler. I watched the video and followed the recipe exactly except for the Chinese 5 spice that I couldn't find in my grocery store. I ended up using all spice instead. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and my cobbler turned out perfectly. There was a lot of syrup but if you lay it on top of the batter as shown in the video and let rest after you take out of the oven for at least 15 min's it soaked it all up. And was sooo incredibly good!! Same temp and timing as indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I'll stick to my old recipe. To begin with, it's way to sweet. It's passable when first taken from the oven, but any left over, you may as well throw it now, because after it cools, it's not very good at all, At least I don't like eating dough. I felt it was a bad waste of good peaches. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Soooooo Loved this cobbler!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
We made this recipe after reading several of the reviews and it was super easy and pretty good. Didn't have the chinese 5 Spice powder so used 1/8 tsp cinnamon & 1/16 tsp nutmeg. Also didn't use any of the peach syrup and it was plenty moist. We enjoyed it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Chef John's Peach Tartlets

See how to make an impressive but so simple fresh peach dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States