Chef John's Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This turned out delicious but I did run into the same liquid issues that others have mentioned. About 10 minutes before it was to come out of the oven I saw the liquid and laid pieces of Italian bread on top to soak up the liquid and I put it back into the oven with the slices of Italian bread on top of it. After 15 minutes I took it out of the oven and all the liquid was gone and the Italian bread was not soggy just a little moist. Took the cobbler out and baked the Italian bread just a little bit more and Italian bread turned out to be nice and sweet, crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
out of this world
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewdrop1757

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I made this after finding some self rising flour.Never used this type of flour before but it was very light and produced good results. I too felt there was too much liquid leftover form the peach syrup but reserved about 1 cup to use on waffles etc. because the flavour of it was incerdibly good. I used allspice instead of the chinese spice as I did not have any chinese spice blend. Overall it was delicious and filled with peachy flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katikins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
For some reason the batter never baked as it should and the peach mixture was extremely runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
excellent and easy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Delicious, beautiful coming out of oven. Used oblong Corning casserole. Also, mixed in 1 can of Apricots because I didn't have enough peaches, sooooo good! Baked 375 40 minutes --- done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Great, easy, and easily changeable recipe. I used half canned peaches and half fresh rhubarb. Instead of Chinese 5 Spice, I used a bit of ginger. Came out very good, although the top started to burn before it was really set. This could have been my weird oven, though. I cooked part in an 8-inch glass dish and part in a smaller, 3x7 disposable dish so I could give a bit to my neighbor. I still had about 3/4 cup of the fruit mix leftover, so I simmered it down and am freezing it for another great adventure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Came out perfect! To the people who do not have self-rising flour: For every 1 cup of all-purpose flour, add 1 1/2 tsp of baking power and 1 tsp of salt. Mix that together and you should have self-rising flour. It worked perfectly for me. Also I did not have Chinese five spice so I substituted it with cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. I'm no longer intimidated to make peach cobbler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I followed this exactly according to Chef John's recipe except for one thing; I didn't have Chinese 5 spice so I used ground cinnamon and ground cloves. The recipe was superb and super easy! The cobbler was a perfect golden brown. Using self rising flour is an absolute necessity for this recipe. The Colorado Peaches I used were super sweet so I should have cut back on the sugar a bit. This was a hit with my entire family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Same recipe my great grandmother used and passed down, less the 5-spice! Always a great cobbler...also do with pie cherries apples any fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Chef John's Peach Tartlets

See how to make an impressive but so simple fresh peach dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States