Chef John's Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Gerry - 1/2 cup butter (shown above in the recipe) = 1 stick (1/4 pound)butter shown in the video
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I love peach cobbler, but I did not care for this. the Chinese five-spice powder was the killer for me. I also did not like the lemon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Spyce
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I love peach cobbler. I normally make a rolled crust, but thought I would give this recipe a try. It's delicious! I used cinnamon instead of five spice powder. Some reviews say there was a lot of liquid in the pan after an hour. I baked mine for 50 minutes, and it was perfect. I think the type of dish used matters so use something similar to the one in the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was a pretty simple recipe and didn't require a lot of different extra ingredients that some of the other recipes where suggesting. I didn't have the Chinese spice so I use Nutmeg instead and I also added Vanilla flavoring. The next time I will need to make two because one was definitely not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkmerr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I loved the flavour, especially as it wasn't too sweet. Added 1/8th of teaspoon of cinnamon to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This recipe tasted great. I have always been afraid to make cobbler but it is one of my husbands favorites so I went for it. Read reviews but after all was said and done, didn't change much. I didn't add the lemon zest and I didn't pour all the juices from the peaches in. I did use canned peaches but I don't think that changed the flavoring to much. Next time I will go ahead and add all the juice because mine wasn't runny like some others were. I did cook at 350 for 50min but when it was done I shut the oven off, opened the door and let it still sit in the oven to cool. Very easy recipe to follow and very good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colin
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
The shoemaker made a cobbler! I'm far from a chef, but Chef John's video inspired me to make something different. It turned out great without the Dutch oven. I used my large glass casserole instead. I also added vanilla extract because I love it. Eventually I'll break down and get a Dutch oven. It was bursting with flavor and very sweet. I loved it without ice cream. Thanks Chef for the recipe. I will add half the sugar to the flour mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I've tried many peach cobbler recipes...and this one beats all! I did add a couple of cups of extra peaches, and cut the sugar in the simple syrup and the batter to about 3/4 cup each. I used the Chinese 5 spice powder as directed but also added cinnamon and freshly grated nutmeg. With the extra peaches, it needed another 10 minutes in the oven. My husband absolutely LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I was looking for something new to make instead of a cake for my husband's birthday. I did not have lemon zest, so I substituted a 1/2 tsp of dried lemon peel. I also added a 1/2 cup of frozen mixed berries to the peach mixture after it simmered a minute or two. It was quite tasty and a big hit with the husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I made exactly as instructed and it came out perfect. It's my new favorite recipe for peach cobbler. The simplicity of ingredients allows the flavor of the fruit to come thru. The cast iron skillet is the secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Chef John's Peach Tartlets

See how to make an impressive but so simple fresh peach dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States